Main content

About Women in League

The Harvey Norman Women in League initiative aims to celebrate the role of women in Rugby League. Over 140,000 women and girls have a direct connection with Rugby League - whether it be as administrators, players, coaches, employees, volunteers or club members- women really are at the heart of the game.

Going in to its eighth year, the culmination of celebrations occurs at the Harvey Norman Women in League Round. The 2014 Women in League Round will be in Round 10 (May 16-19).

For more information please visit:

Harvey Norman Favourite Son Award

The Harvey Norman Favourite Son Award acknowledges an NRL player whose attitude and character has an outstanding influence on the game. The recipient is a player whose integrity and reputation makes the game more appealing to women, someone who encourages mothers to involve their families in Rugby League.

Some of the NRL’s most respected stars have been nominated, with the winner to be announced on Wednesday, May 14, at the Women in League Sydney Lunch, the official start to the Harvey Norman Women in League initiative, to be celebrated during Round 10 of the Telstra Premiership (May 16-19).

The nominees are:

Broncos                     Corey Parker
Bulldogs                    Sam Perrett
Cowboys                    Brent Tate
Dragons                     Brett Morris
Eels                             Ben Smith
Knights                      Jarrod Mullen
Panthers                    Kevin Kingston
Rabbitohs                  Opted not to nominate a player
Raiders                       Brett White
Roosters                    Mitchell Pearce
Sea Eagles                 Matt Ballin
Sharks                        Michael Gordon
Storm                         Ryan Hoffman
Titans                         Ashley Harrison
Warriors                     Manu Vatuvei
Wests Tigers             Aaron Woods

Rugby League fans have the chance to choose the game’s “Favourite Son” with online voting open at until 11.59pm on May 11.

The Harvey Norman Favourite Son Award was established in 2009 and past winners include:

2009 - Hazem El Masri (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
2010 - Nathan Hindmarsh (Parramatta Eels)
2011 - Petero Civoniceva (Penrith Panthers)
2012 - Luke Burt (Parramatta Eels)
2013 - Anthony Minichiello (Sydney Roosters)