Main content
Community Awards

The NRL Community Awards recognise Rugby League’s unsung heroes for the tireless work they do to support the Game they love. From volunteers and teachers, to players at a first-grade level, the awards pause to honour, reflect and congratulate those who make a positive difference for many in their communities, week after week.

The NRL Community Awards will be held on Saturday 1st October 2016.


The 2016 Awards Categories Include:

-         Volunteer of the Year

-         Grassroots Club of the Year

-         Teacher of the Year

-         Young Person of the Year

-         Women in League Achievement Award

-         NRL Club - Community Program of the Year

-         Ken Stephen Medal Presented by Telstra

-         Community Team of the Year


Awards Specific Descriptions (All Awards):


Volunteer of the Year

Presented to a Volunteer that has provided exceptional service to the game and made a notable and measurable difference in their community through Rugby League while demonstrating the NRL values of excellence, courage, inclusiveness and team work.

Grassroots Club of the Year

Presented to a Rugby League Club that has fostered participation and enjoyment at all levels of the sport, has become an integral part of their community and has shown innovation in administration.

Teacher of the Year

Presented to a Teacher who has demonstrated exceptional support of Rugby League through the provision of opportunities for students to be involved in both practical Rugby League activities within their school/district and engaging students by integrating the NRL’s Educational programs in the classroom.

Young Person of the Year

Presented to a young person (aged 13 – 18) who has participated in an NRL Community Program and contributed to their Community through Rugby League – either through encouraging others to participate or by using rugby league as a vehicle to raise awareness with regards to societal issues.

Women in League Achievement Award

Presented to a woman who has either acted as an outstanding advocate for the advancement and opportunity of women in Rugby League or made a significant contribution to Rugby League in general.

NRL Club - Community Program of the Year

Presented to an NRL Club that recognises, celebrates and rewards excellent/innovative community programs which significantly improve outcomes for their community and fosters a culture of learning, supporting and sharing of excellent practice.

Ken Stephen Medal Presented by Telstra

The Ken Stephen Medal recognises the efforts of an NRL player, who has not only achieved on the field, but has also committed time off the field to community projects.

CLICK HERE to find out more and VOTE

Community Team of the Year

The Community Team of the Year recognises the efforts of all Ken Stephen Medal nominees for their dedication and time off the field, supporting and participating in community projects.