Main content

NRL statement on seventh-tackle try

The NRL has confirmed an error by the Match Officials resulted in Cronulla’s opening try being scored on the seventh tackle.

NRL Head of Football, Mr Todd Greenberg, had the incident reviewed during the course of the first half and said there would be an inquiry into how the error occurred.

“We do not want to see mistakes like this made in any match, especially a finals game, and we will be meeting with Daniel Anderson and the Match Officials to examine just how this happened,” Greenberg said.

“What is most concerning is that there are checks and balances across the entire squad to safeguard against the referees making such a mistake.

“We don’t want this happening again.

“We can’t take points away or change a result of a match due to such a decision but we do have to be able to reassure players and fans that this won't happen again in any game.”

Send to a friend:
Your Name:
Your Email:
Friend's Name:
Friend's Email:
Close
Submit
loading image needs to go here
Lend a hand to the people of Vanuatu. Please donate to the Vanuatu appeal.