Main content

Official View: Correct calls in Sharks game

Bill Harrigan NRL.com Mon, Jul 16, 2012 - 5:50 PM

The Dragons celebrate a try against the Sharks on Sunday afternoon. Copyright: NRL Photos

Referees co-coach Bill Harrigan answers your most frequently asked questions.

Round 18 – Sharks v Roosters

Do you agree that Cronulla's Wade Graham knocked-on when trying to ground the ball?

Yes, we agree with the referee's decision that Wade Graham knocked on. There is separation between his arm and the ball before he grounds it. It is a knock-on and the television replays clearly show the separation. The video referee got the call right.

ROUND 19

Wests Tigers v Panthers

Did you agree with the decision to award a try to the Panthers in the second half, was Wests Tigers fullback Tim Moltzen obstructed?

Tim Moltzen was obstructed, the decision should have been; no-try and a penalty to the Wests Tigers.

Knights v Sea Eagles

Do you agree that Akuila Uate was held up by the Manly the defence, could this have been awarded benefit of the doubt?

The video referee got this call right. The decision process was to marry-up the two camera angles to come to the decision. It showed Uate short and then held up by Manly's Kieran Foran. So it was the right decision.

Dragons v Sharks

Do you agree with the decision to allow the try to  Dragons forward Trent Merrin after the lead up looked like Matt Cooper might have knocked-on? What did you make of Shane Flanagan's comments?

There were three decisions that Cronulla Coach Shane Flanagan was disappointed with out of this game. Two related to alleged knock-ons by Dragons players Ben Hornby off a line dropout and Matt Cooper in the lead-up to a try. After reviewing the game, video footage clearly shows on both occasions that the ball went backwards in both instances. The referees were correct to call knocked-back play on.

The try to Trent Merrin was correctly called play-on, the ball went backwards off Cooper and they had every right to continue playing.

We got these calls correct.

Are you happy with the forward pass call that prevented Anthony Tupou from scoring?

The replays clearly show Wade Graham's pass to Tupou has gone forward, there can be no disputing this. It was definitely forward.