Main content

Official View: Nightingale's try legit

Stuart Raper NRL.com Mon, Mar 26, 2012 - 2:00 PM

Referees co-coach Stuart Raper says the video referee made the right call to award a try to Dragons Jason Nightingale. Copyright: NRL Photos

Referees co-coach Stuart Raper answers your most frequently asked questions from Round 4 of the NRL Telstra Premiership.

RABBITOHS v BRONCOS

What did you make of the sin-binning of Broncos centre Jack Reed?

On review of this incident it was a tough call against the Broncos. After the Rabbitohs had made a long break, referee Ashley Klein saw the attacking player attempt to get to his feet only for him to fall back down. From Klein’s sightline, it appeared Brisbane’s Jack Reed had pulled the player down to slow the speed of the play-the-ball. As soon as Klein had blown the penalty, he had no choice but to sin-bin Reed, as it looked like a professional foul to stop the Rabbitohs from a try-scoring situation.

Watch the Jack Reed sin-binning incident

DRAGONS v SEA EAGLES

What is your official view on the try awarded to Jason Nightingale? Was it a double movement?

This is not a double movement as Nightingale is always surging forward and his attempt to get the ball over the tryline is all in the one motion.

See Jason Nightingale's try against Manly

Why didn’t the referee go to the video at the end of the first-half, it looked like Jamie Soward was going to race the length of the field to score?

Jamie Soward touches the ball and it travels forward into a Manly player, before bouncing back for Soward to regather. This constitutes a knock on, which is a correct call. All officials called it at once.

COWBOYS v SHARKS

Was the no-try ruling against the Sharks a similar incident to the try Jason Nightingale scored?

The reason why the try was not awarded to the Sharks was because Todd Carney interfered with the defender James Segeyero whilst he was trying to stop John Morris from scoring. This is called a driver and is the correct call.

Watch the no-try decision against the Sharks

However, the call for the late or high tackle on Nathan Gardner was incorrect and the video referee should have got more information before making that decision.

WARRIORS v TITANS

Your view on Manu Vatuvei's no try - was this simultaneous contact with sideline and try line?

I have looked at this and totally agree with call. Manu hits the sideline simultaneously with the ball hitting the tryline and thus he is definitely out. The video referee got this call right.

Watch Manu Vatuvei's disallowed try

STORM v ROOSTERS

What was your view on Melbourne Storm’s try – was Boyd Cordner from the Roosters obstructed?

Cordner was obstructed from making a tackle, the decision should have been no-try and a penalty against the Storm.

What was your view on the decision to disallow the try to Roosters winger Sam Perrett?

This was a very tough call and the video referee searched for every angle to assist his decision.  On review, the video referee got this decision wrong, it should have been benefit-of-the-doubt.

Watch the Storm v Roosters match highlights