Main content

Official View Rd 22: Souths call right

Stuart Raper & Bill Harrigan NRL.com Mon, Aug 06, 2012 - 6:10 PM

Referees co-coach Stuart Raper answers your questions from Round 22 of the NRL Telstra Premiership. Copyright: NRL Photos

Referees co-coaches Stuart Raper and Bill Harrigan answer your questions from round 22 of the NRL Telstra Premiership.

Roosters v Dragons

Did Rooster Roger Tuivasa-Sheck ground the ball in the in-goal area before setting up Mitchell Pearce's length of the field try in the second half?

The ruling is play-on in this situation because his intention is to get out of the in-goal area. He is not deliberately grounding the ball. Tuivasa-Sheck is not tackled, so he is entitled to get up and run. If the player decides to play-on, it is the same ruling as if he is in the field of play, there is no hand on him, so the tackle is not complete. He has every right to stand up and play on and it is obvious that that is his intention.

See the incident

Cowboys v Sea Eagles

What was Tony Williams's try disallowed for? Did Anthony Watmough's contact with Glenn Hall stop the defence from making a play?

The line Anthony Watmough ran was an obstruction, it was straight at the player. It stopped Glenn Hall from having a chance to make a play.

See the incident

Why was Brett Stewart's try disallowed, did Steve Matai effect the play?

They got this call right, Steve Matai runs straight at Cowboys centre Brent Tate. Brett Stewart runs behind Matai and this action stops Tate from having a chance at making the tackle.

See the incident

Was it the correct call to penalise the Cowboys for being offside which led to the match-winning penalty goal?

Yes, this was the correct decision. It rebounds forward into a Cowboys player who is in an offside position, this was accidental offside, but then he plays at the ball by hitting it away, so the referee had no option but to penalise the Cowboys for being offside.

See it

Raiders v Broncos

Are you happy with the dummy-half try to Travis Waddell? Does the person playing the ball stop the Broncos defence from having a fair shot?

There is no obstruction in this one. The Raiders player playing-the-ball does not impede anyone attempting to make a tackle on Waddell, it is a fair try.

Titans v Rabbitohs

Did Titan Luke O'Dwyer take out Rabbitoh Chris McQueen? Did you agree with the decision to penalise O'Dwyer and disallow the try?

O'Dwyer pushes a player out of the way in his attempt to get the ball and you can't do that. The right decision was to penalise O'Dwyer for this action.

In the 35th minute, is Dylan Farrell offside from the kick before hitting it back to Sam Burgess? Is there a knock on from Chris McQueen before the Rabbitohs score?

They got the correct decision on this. When you freeze frame the first kick, it shows that Dylan Farrell is on side. He hits it back to Sam Burgess who then kicks the ball back across field and there is a contest for the ball. Chris McQueen does clearly touch the ball, but it goes backwards off his hands. The ball then hits Scott Prince, who is behind McQueen, and the ball travels towards the Titans in-goal area off Prince's hands. This is why it appears the ball has travelled forward. But it has not come forward off McQueen. It is a fair try.

Bulldogs v Knights

What did you make of the penalty against the Knights in the 78th minute due to a non-tackle call?

This was a very harsh penalty against Newcastle. It should have just been play-on.