Main content

Official View: Refs right to penalise Soward

Bill Harrigan NRL.com Mon, Apr 30, 2012 - 3:00 PM

Corey Norman's final pass to Josh Hoffman was correctly called backwards, says Bill Harrigan. Copyright: NRL Photos

Referees co-coach Bill Harrigan answers your most frequently asked questions from Round 8.

What are your thoughts on the decision to penalise Jamie Soward in the dying minutes of the Dragons v Roosters ANZAC Day match?

It was a very good penalty and we 100 per cent agree with the decision to penalise Jamie Soward. We have a zero tolerance for verbal abuse and the way Soward approached the referee and what he said was unacceptable. It was strong refereeing to award the penalty and it was the right decision.

See the Jamie Soward penalty decision

What did you make of the try to Josh Hoffman in the Broncos' clash with the Titans after Corey Norman tipped on the ball to set-up the last try – is this deemed a pass, and can it be looked at by the video referee?

It is not deemed a pass and it could have been checked, however the referee was in line with the play and thought it was a tap-back and therefore played on and did not use the video referee.

We are happy with the ruling, it was the correct decision. It was pleasing the referee made the call on the run and didn’t send this to the video referee. It is good to see that referees are making decisions, and our policy is not to send decisions up to the video referee when you know what the outcome is. If you are 100 per cent confident, don’t send it up; that is what happened here and the referee made the right decision. The referee on the field is always going to be the best person to judge on this sort of play. He made the right call.

Watch Josh Hoffman's try for the Broncos

What are your thoughts on the no-try to Bulldogs winger Bryson Goodwin late in the second half against Manly?

First and foremost, the ball never actually touches the ground in the in-goal area. Secondly, his right foot has touched the line prior to his torso coming in contact with the ball, so it was a clear no-try on two fronts. They got this call right.

Watch Bryson Goodwin's disallowed try