Main content

Official View: Slater binning the right call

Stuart Raper NRL.com Mon, May 14, 2012 - 5:00 PM

Billy Slater was correctly sent to the sin-bin during his side's loss to the Sharks on Sunday. Copyright: NRL Photos

Referees co-coach Stuart Raper looks at all the action from Round 10 and answers your most frequently asked questions.

What did you make of the no-try to Cowboys’ Kane Linnett – was it not a case of simultaneous grounding when Linnett and Newcastle's Akuila Uate dived for the ball?

We were happy with the call. Linnett brushes down the side of the ball, whereas Knights defender Uate touches the ball and has clear downward pressure. We believe it was the correct call to award a line dropout.

Watch the no-try decision against Linnett

What did you think of the double-movement call against Cowboys forward Matt Scott?

This is a clear double-movement. Scott promotes the ball with the arm carrying the ball after it has come in contact with the ground and there were defenders all over him. It was an easy call for the referee to make.

Watch the Matt Scott double-movement incident

Did the referees make the right call to sin-bin Billy Slater after making contact with Jeff Robson during a kick chase? What is the fullback entitled to do in this situation?

This was definitely the right call. Billy Slater was not running the line of the ball, he is running to deliberately take out Sharks halfback Jeff Robson. It was a try-scoring situation and a professional foul. Slater had to go to the sin-bin for that.

You are allowed to go shoulder-for-shoulder to compete and jostle for the ball, but you have to be going towards the ball. Slater’s line is not towards the ball, it is towards the player. This is why he was penalised.

Watch the Sharks v Storm highlights

What were your thoughts on Joseph Leilua's try for the Roosters against the Warriors? Did he and the Warriors defender both ground the ball simultaneously?

This is probably the toughest call we have had all year. After looking at it many times in slow motion and all the different angles, we believe the decision to award a try was wrong. We don’t believe Leilua had possession of the ball, he did get his hand on the ball, but the Warriors’ player grounds it with his arm. We believe that it was the wrong call. It should have been a line dropout.

Watch the Leilua try decision