Main content

Official View: Storm wrongly denied a try

Stuart Raper NRL.com Mon, Jun 25, 2012 - 5:05 PM

Melbourne's Ryan Hinchcliffe was wrongly denied a try by the video referee. Copyright: NRL Photos

Referees co-coach Stuart Raper answers your most frequently asked questions from Round 16.

Broncos v Rabbitohs

Did the Rabbitohs' Justin Hunt ground the ball with his torso before Justin Hodges grounded the ball to score the opening try foe the Broncos?

The video referee deemed that Hunt did not ground the ball with his torso and so Hodges was the first player to ground the ball. We were happy with this decision.

Watch the Justin Hodges try

Dragons v Titans

What was your take on the two penalties Gold Coast’s Nate Myles conceded that led to Jamie Soward first equalling the scores, then kicking the match-winning penalty goal? What was the first infringement for? Was the second a high tackle?

Both of those penalties were correct decisions. In the first instance, Myles interferes in the ruck on Jason Nightingale which breaks down the play. On the second, he tackles Fien high which is a mandatory penalty. The front-on shot shows clearly him pulling under Fien’s chin.

Watch the Nate Myles penalties

Cowboys v Raiders

Did Ashley Graham ground the ball properly in the seventh minute for the Cowboys when he dived in the corner?

We are happy with the decision of try (benefit of the doubt) as the video referee must be 100 per cent sure it’s not a try. The footage shows that Graham looks like he still has fingers on the ball when it hits the ground. The ball bounces out as if there has been pressure on the ball.

Watch the Graham try

Bulldogs v Storm

Was it the correct decision to deny Ryan Hinchcliffe a try for obstruction? Can you explain the ruling please?

No, we believe that this decision was wrong. Ryles, who was in front of the ball, tried to get out of the way and his impact had no effect on the scoring of the try.

Watch the no-try incident

Did the referees make the right call on the Krisnan Inu try for the Bulldogs? Did he lose control?

They made the right call. Inu always had his arm on the ball when it hit the ground. Therefore he had downward pressure which constitutes a try.

Watch Inu's try