Main content

Wests Tigers 2012 NRL factbox

Wests Tigers

Premierships: 1 - 2005

Finishes over the past three seasons: 2011 - 4th, 2010 - 3rd, 2009 - 9th.

Coach: Tim Sheens

Captain: Robbie Farah.

Gains: Adam Blair (Melbourne), Dane Chisholm (Melbourne), Joel Reddy (Parramatta), Tom Humble (Parramatta), Matt Bell (Penrith), John Grant (Eastwood rugby), Jack Spencer (Salford).

Losses: Robert Lui (Cowboys), Wade McKinnon (Hull FC), Todd Payten (retired), Andrew Fifita (Cronulla), Bryce Gibbs (Cronulla), Simon Dwyer (de-registered), Mark Flanagan (St Helens), Jake Mullaney (Parramatta), Geoff Daniela (Penrith), Jason Schirnack (Mackay).

Player they really needed: Josh Dugan. The lack of an experienced fullback is the only possible weak link in a powerful looking squad that ticks boxes in every departments.

Headline fans dread to read: Toothless Tigers flop in finals again.

Headline fans would love to read: Sheens seals fifth premiership crown as Tigers slay Dragons.

Money Man: Adam Blair. A $500,000-a-year contract is a lot to pay for a forward, but the powerful Kiwi could be the final piece of the jigsaw with the grunt he brings to the Tigers pack.

One to watch: James Tedesco. Highly-rated fullback who will get the chance to be the Tigers' long-term No.1 this season.

Best team: Joel Reddy, Beau Ryan, Blake Ayshford, Chris Lawrence, Lote Tuqiri, Benji Marshall, Tim Moltzen, Aaron Woods, Robbie Farah, Keith Galloway, Adam Blair, Gareth Ellis, Chris Heighington. Interchange: Matt Groat, Matt Bell, Liam Fulton, Matt Utai.

Predicted finish: 1st

Send to a friend:
Your Name:
Your Email:
Friend's Name:
Friend's Email:
loading image needs to go here