96. Bradley Clyde

Bradley Clyde emerged from the ACT competition with the Belconnen United Panthers to become a dominating lock forward in world rugby league.

With local ties, it was probably inevitable that Canberra would grade the three-time Australian schoolboy representative (1985, 1986 and 1987).

Clyde had an innate ability to bust an opposition's defensive line, creating space for a classy Canberra backline that included Ricky Stuart, Laurie Daley, Mal Meninga, Gary Belcher and John Ferguson.

Apart from his powerful attacking bursts, Clyde was ever reliable. Upon receipt of an opposition kick, invariably Clyde would be the man to take the first hit-up in a new set of six.

In 11 seasons with the Raiders, Clyde played 178 games, which included the 1989 and 1994 grand final wins. He was subsequently named in the 1990's ''Team Of The Decade'' and one of Rugby League Week's 25 greatest-ever NSW Origin players.

After three seasons with the Bulldogs, Clyde finished his career in England.

Clyde was a man for the big occasion. In three grand finals, he was twice a recipient of the Clive Churchill Medal. (Clyde and Brad Mackay are the only two players to win the Churchill award despite playing on the losing side.)

He was also named player of the series on the 1989 New Zealand tour and in the 1992 home series against Great Britain.

Position: Lock/Second row.

Clubs: Canberra 1988–98; Canterbury 1999–2000; Leeds 2001.

Club landmarks: Won premierships with Canberra 1989–90, 1994.

Games for NSW: 12 (1989–94)

Tests for Australia: 18 (1989–94)

World Cup matches: One (1992).

Representative landmarks: Kangaroo tour 1994; Australian tour of New Zealand 1989; Australian tour of Papua New Guinea 1991; World Cup 1992.