You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

New Zealand Test captain Benji Marshall and Wests Tigers five-eight has received one of the game's greatest accolades in winning the 2010 Rugby League Golden Boot Award.

"To win this award, after coming back from three shoulder reconstructions, winning the Four Nations, and having my best ever year since I've started in the NRL, is pretty overwhelming,'' Marshall said. "I'm pretty excited. It is something I definitely won't take for granted."

Jim Doyle CEO of New Zealand Rugby League said "This award rounds out a great year for rugby league in New Zealand. With winning the World Cup, the Four Nations and now the Worlds Best player award, the game is in really good heart."

"Benji is a most deserved winner, he showed during the Four Nations that he is excellent leader both on and off the field and we couldn't be more pleased for him."

The other Kiwi in the running, Shaun Kenny-Dowall, won Player of the Year at the NZRL 2010 Awards and International Centre of the Year at the 2010 IPOY Awards and was also a much deserved nominee.

Now in its 25th year, the prestigious award is presented to the game's greatest international player. Marshall beat fellow nominees Shaun Kenny Dowall (NZ), Paul Gallen (Australia), James Graham (England), Billy Slater (Australia) and Sam Thaiday (Australia).

The voting panel included three former Golden Boot winners in Wally Lewis, Hugh McGahan and Stacey Jones, former Great Britain international Garry Schofield, former England Rugby League coach Phil Larder, ex NSW coach turned broadcaster Phil Gould, former France coach Louis Bonnery, as well as journalists and supporters from both hemispheres.

Rugby League World magazine editor John Drake declared Marshall a dominant victor.

"It was a landslide victory for Benji Marshall who achieved maximum points from 11 of the 13 members of the voting panel,'' Drake said.

"The Golden Boot award recognises a whole year of performances at domestic and international level.

"Benji's match-winning performance in the biggest game of the season, the Four Nations final against Australia, proved his undoubted class. The very best players produce their very best performances on the biggest stages."

Wests Tigers and Australian Coach Tim Sheens said Marshall had to overcome some hurdles this year.

"I'm delighted for Benji and it is richly deserved,'' Sheens said.

Previous Golden Boot winners:

1984 Wally Lewis (Australia)
1985 Brett Kenny (Australia)
1986 Garry Jack (Australia)
1987 Hugh McGahan (New Zealand) & Peter Sterling (Australia)
1988 Ellery Hanley (Great Britain)
1989 Mal Meninga (Australia)
1990-1998 No award given
1999 Andrew Johns (Australia)
2000 Brad Fittler (Australia)
2001 Andrew Johns (Australia)
2002 Stacey Jones (New Zealand)
2003 Darren Lockyer (Australia)
2004 Andrew Farrell (Great Britain)
2005 Anthony Minichiello (Australia)
2006 Darren Lockyer (Australia)
2007 Cameron Smith (Australia)
2008 Billy Slater (Australia)
2009 Greg Inglis (Australia)