You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Kiwis Coach Stephen Kearney and past Kiwi player, now NRL referee, Henry Perenara were two of the winners at Saturdays Maori Sports Awards. Also nominated was Ben Henry, captain of the Junior Warriors Under 20's Grand Final winning team.

The Maori Sports Awards celebrated 20 years this year and Champion Māori athletes from the past two decades were honoured at the event held at the TelstraClear Pacific Events Centre in Manukau on Saturday December 4.

Set up to foster, promote and encourage Māori sports people in the pursuit of excellence, Te Tohu Taakaro o Aotearoa was founded by the late Albie Pryor with Te Arikinui Dame Te Atairangikaahu as Patron and Sir John Turei as Kaumātua.

Executive director Dick Garratt says the prestigious event recognises world, national and regional Māori achievement and this year's nominations have once again been of an outstanding calibre.

The 2010 winners were:

The Albie Pryor Maori sportsperson of the year: Hosea Gear (Ngati Porou, Te Aitanga-a-Mahaki) - Rugby Union
Senior Maori sportsman: Hosea Gear (Ngati Porou, Te Aitanga-a-Mahaki) - Rugby Union
Senior Maori sportswoman: Joelle King (Ngati Porou) - Squash
Junior Maori sportsman: Reuben Te Rangi (Ngapuhi) - Basketball
Junior Maori sportswoman: Dayna Maree Turnbull - Basketball, Touch Football
Disabled Maori sportsperson: Cameron Leslie (Ngapuhi) - Sswimming
Maori sports coach: Stephen Kearney (Te Atiawa) - Rugby League
Maori sports administrator: Patricia Rangi (Te Atiawa) - Hockey
Maori umpire/referee: Henry Perenara (Ngati Rangitihi) - Rugby League
Maori sports team: Maori All Blacks - Rugby Union
Maori sports media award: Television: Beneath the Maori Moon - Bailey Mackey (Ngati Porou, Ngai Tuhoe), Black Inc Media