You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Nine new players were today named in the QAS Emerging Origin squad that will be put through its paces by Academy Head Coach Wayne Bennett next month.

The impressive 14-man squad will take part in numerous sessions at the Queensland Sport & Athletics Centre (QSAC) in Brisbane from January 21-23.

It includes Matt Gillett – the 2010 Dally M Rookie of the Year.

Gillett enjoyed an outstanding year in the NRL after forcing his way into the Broncos side following a bumper season with the Norths Devils in the Queensland Cup.

He is one of the nine players who will experience the highly-regarded QAS Emerging Origin camp for the first time.

The other newcomers are Ben Barba, Dane Nielsen, Justin O’Neill, Daly Cherry-Evans, Robert Lui, Martin Kennedy, Jake Friend and Ben Te’o.

Cherry-Evans starred for the Sunshine Coast Sea Eagles in the Intrust Super Cup this year, taking out the Courier-Mail Best & Fairest as well as the Carbine Club Rookie of the Year.

The Emerging Origin squad has played a pivotal role in Queensland’s stunning recent domination of the Harvey Norman State of Origin series.

Boom forward David Taylor played in all three games of the 2010 Origin series after taking part in the Emerging Origin program.

Jharal Yow Yeh and Ben Lowe were selected as 18th men for the second and third games of this year’s Origin series respectively after also attending the Emerging Origin camp alongside Taylor.

Yow Yeh and Lowe have retained their spots in the squad. Daniel Vidot, Matt Bell and William Zillman will also return.

Ben Barba (Canterbury Bulldogs)
Daniel Vidot (Canberra Raiders)
Jharal Yow Yeh (Brisbane Broncos)
Dane Nielsen (Melbourne Storm)
Justin O’Neill (Melbourne Storm)
Daly Cherry-Evans (Manly Sea Eagles)
Robert Lui (Wests Tigers)
Martin Kennedy (Sydney Roosters)
Jake Friend (Sydney Roosters)
Matt Bell (Penrith Panthers)
Matt Gillett (Brisbane Broncos)
Ben Te’o (Brisbane Broncos)
Ben Lowe (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
William Zillman (Gold Coast Titans)