You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
NRL All Stars coach Wayne Bennett believes picking the centres is one the toughest choices facing "selectors" for next week's January 27 deadline ... but Sea Eagles co-captain Jamie Lyon is hopeful the voting public won't find it too hard to pick him for one of the coveted spots. <br><br> Lyon had no hesitation today in declaring his interest to make his NRL All Stars debut against the Indigenous All Stars at Skilled Park, Gold Coast, on February 12, if one of 16 players chosen from a 64-man shortlist by the public at the end of on-line voting next Thursday. <br><br> “Selection in the All Stars side would be an honour – watching last year’s game was a buzz and it has quickly found a place in the rugby league must-see list every season – bring it on,” said Lyon. <br><br> To secure a start Lyon has to be among the highest polling centres in a class field which also includes Penrith's Michael Jennings, Roosters' NZ international Shaun Kenny-Dowall and Tigers Australian rep Chris Lawrence; as well as out-polling his Manly team-mates Anthony Watmough, Brent Kite and Tony Williams. <br><br> Lyon made the 64-man shortlist announced earlier this month following the first stage of public voting, which saw more than 21,000 fans take up the opportunity to elect four players from each club (two backs and two forwards). <br><br> Five changes have been made to the original shortlist due to player injuries - Bulldogs' Greg Eastwood and Frank Pritchard have been replaced by Michael Ennis and Aiden Tolman; Warrior Manua Vatuvei has been replaced by Krisnan Inu; the Roosters' Mitchell Pearce replaces Todd Carney; and the Panthers' Sam McKendry is in for Luke Lewis. <br><br> Stage Two of NRL All Stars voting, which closes at 11.59pm AEDT (10.59pm in Queensland) next Thursday at <a href=""><strong></strong></a> challenges rugby league fans to select 16 players from the shortlist (only one from each club) to join Australian captain Darren Lockyer and New Zealand captain Benji Marshall in the NRL All Stars side. <br><br> Bennett told fans on that he was more than happy to hand control of the team selection over to rugby league fans. <br><br> "I tried to pick a team (last week) and I gave up half way through because it was getting too difficult," Bennett said. "I"ve purely left it up to you, and I'm looking forward to seeing the team you pick, and I hope we all do you proud on the field. <br><br> " ... I had to pick a team the other day and had trouble with the centres myself ..." <br> <br> Bennett has assigned the following positions to the 64 shortlisted players: <br> <br> <b>Backs have been divided into three separate groups:</b> <br> - Fullback – Specialist role <br> - Outside back – Includes centres and wings <br> - Inside back – A player who can play five- eighth or halfback <br> <br> <b>Forwards have also been divided into three categories:</b> <br> - Tight forwards – A player who plays front-row and also second-row <br> - Edge forwards – A second-rower or lock that can play on both the right and left side edge of a team’s attack and defence <br> - Hooker – Specialist role <br> <br> The coach wants at least three tight forwards in the starting line-up. <br> <br> Bennett is also asking the fans to consider: <br> - Players marked as utility players have been designated on the basis of their ability to cover multiple positions <br> - The seven-man bench will require: two Tight Forwards, one Edge Forward, one Inside Back, one Outside Back, two Utilities. <br> <br> Two players on the seven-man bench will be selected by NRL All Stars coach Wayne Bennett at the completion of Stage Two voting. <br> <br> <b>Brisbane Broncos</b> <br> Corey Parker - Edge Forward <br> Ben Hannant - Tight Forward <br> Alex Glenn - Outside Back <br> Ben Hunt - Utility, Hooker, Inside Back <br> <br> <b>Canterbury- Bankstown Bulldogs</b> <br> Michael Ennis - Tight Forward <br> Aiden Tolman - Edge Forward, Tight Forward <br> Bryson Goodwin - Outside Back <br> Ben Roberts - Inside Back <br> <br> <b>Canberra Raiders</b> <br> David Shillington - Tight Forward <br> Bronson Harrison - Edge Forward <br> Josh Dugan - Fullback <br> Jarrod Croker - Outside Back <br> <br> <b>Cronulla Sharks</b> <br> Paul Gallen - Tight forward <br> Jeremy Smith - Edge forward, Tight forward <br> Nathan Gardner - Fullback <br> Colin Best - Outside Back <br> <br> <b>Gold Coast Titans</b> <br> Ashley Harrison - Edge Forward <br> Mark Minichiello - Tight Forward <br> Kevin Gordon - Outside Back <br> William Zillman - Fullback <br> <br> <b>Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles</b> <br> Anthony Watmough - Edge Forward <br> Brent Kite - Tight Forward <br> Jamie Lyon - Outside Back, Inside Back <br> Tony Williams - Outside Back <br> <br> <b>Melbourne Storm</b> <br> Cameron Smith - Hooker <br> Adam Blair - Edge Forward, Tight Forward <br> Cooper Cronk - Inside Back <br> Chase Stanley - Outside Back <br> <br> <b>Newcastle Knights</b> <br> Neville Costigan - Edge Forward, Tight Forward <br> Zeb Taia - Tight Forward <br> Akuila Uate - Outside Back <br> Kurt Gidley - Utility <br> <br> <b>North Queensland Cowboys</b> <br> Dallas Johnson - Edge Forward <br> Matthew Scott - Tight Forward <br> Antonio Winterstein - Outside Back <br> Ashley Graham - Outside Back <br> <br> <b>Parramatta Eels</b> <br> Nathan Hindmarsh - Edge Forward, Tight Forward <br> Tim Mannah - Tight Forward <br> Jarryd Hayne - Fullback <br> Luke Burt - Outside Back <br> <br> <b>Penrith Panthers</b> <br> Sam McKendry - Edge Forward, Utility <br> Petero Civoniceva - Tight Forward <br> Michael Jennings - Outside Back <br> Michael Gordon - Outside Back <br> <br> <b>St George Illawarra Dragons</b> <br> Ben Creagh - Edge Forward <br> Dean Young - Utility, Hooker <br> Darius Boyd - Fullback <br> Brett Morris - Outside Back <br> <br> <b>South Sydney Rabbitohs</b> <br> Dave Taylor - Edge Forward, Tight Forward <br> Roy Asotasi - Tight Forward <br> Fetuli Talanoa - Outside Back <br> Junior Vaivai - Outside Back <br> <br> <b>Sydney Roosters</b> <br> Nate Myles - Tight Forward <br> Braith Anasta - Inside Back, Utility <br> Mitchell Pearce - Inside Back, Utility <br> Shaun Kenny-Dowall - Outside Back <br> <br> <b>New Zealand Warriors</b> <br> Feleti Mateo - Edge Forward <br> Simon Mannering - Edge Forward <br> Lance Hohaia - Fullback, Utility <br> Krisnan Inu - Outside Back <br> <br> <b>Wests Tigers</b> <br> Gareth Ellis - Edge Forward <br> Robbie Farah - Hooker <br> Lote Tuqiri - Outside Back <br> Chris Lawrence - Outside Back <br> <br> <b>Overview of NRL All Stars voting:</b> <br> - The first player to be chosen in the NRL All Stars team will be the player who scores the highest number of overall votes in a position. <br> - Once a player from one club is placed in the team, no other player from that club can be chosen. <br> - If a player withdraws from the team due to injury, he will be replaced by someone from the bench. <br> - The open bench spot will then be replaced by someone from the injured player’s club, with the new player having recorded the second highest number of votes from that club, either as a forward, back or utility, depending on the position needed for the bench. <br> - The Australian and New Zealand captains are automatically included in the team. <br> - At the end of Stage Two voting, the coach selects from shortlisted players still available, the two remaining players to complete the 20-man squad. <br> <br> Less than 2000 tickets are available for the Harvey Norman Rugby League All Stars to be played at Skilled Park on the Gold Coast on February 12, 2011. <br> <br> Tickets are available through Ticketek outlets, on <strong>132 849</strong> or<a href=" sh=ALLSTARS11"> <strong></strong></a> <br> <br> New Zealand customers can call 0800 842 538 or +61 132 849.