You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Broncos winger Jharal Yow Yeh and Bulldogs centre Jamal Idris will make their Kangaroos debuts on Friday after being named on Sunday afternoon in the Australian team to play New Zealand at the Gold Coast.

Yow Yeh, 21, replaces the injured Lote Tuqiri from the side which lost the Four Nations to New Zealand in November, while Idris, 20, replaces Greg Bird on the interchange bench.

Other casualties from the extended Four Nations squad are Jarryd Hayne, Robbie Farah, Nate Myles, Willie Tonga, Dean Young, Tom Learoyd-Lahrs and Anthony Watmough who were overlooked, while Chris Lawrence, Luke Lewis, Darius Boyd, Brent Tate and Kurt Gidley were not considered because of injury, as well as Todd Carney, who is suspended.

Yow Yeh, who is among 13 Queenslanders in the 17-man squad, and Idris have been rewarded for their outstanding club form and the form of their teams after eight completed rounds in the Telstra Premiership - the Broncos are co-competition leaders with the Dragons (7-1) while the Bulldogs sit sixth (5-3).

The team was announced in Canberra after Australian coach Tim Sheens' Wests Tigers thumped the Raiders 42-19.

Yow Yeh is joined by fellow Broncos team-mates Justin Hodges (centre), Darren Lockyer (captain and five-eighth) and Sam Thaiday (second row). Hodges missed all of the 2010 season with a ruptured achilles tendon.

The Storm's Cooper Cronk has been named on the interchange bench, making way for Cowboys captain Johnathan Thurston to return to the Kangaroos' halfback spot after he missed the Four Nations through injury.

Panthers captain Petero Civoniceva, who has been solid for a struggling Penrith this season, has been recalled to the starting line-up after standing himself down in the Four Nations because he felt his form was not good enough during the November series.

The Raiders' David Shillington retained his spot on the interchange bench, despite his team being in last place with just one win.

The only four Blues players in the squad are Brett Morris (wing, Dragons), Ben Creagh (second row, Dragons), Paul Gallen (second row, Sharks) and Idris.

Australian team selected for the VB Test against New Zealand at Skilled Park, on the Gold Coast, on Friday, May 6:

Fullback: Billy Slater (Melbourne Storm)
Brett Morris (St George Illawarra Dragons)
Centre: Greg Inglis (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
Centre: Justin Hodges (Brisbane Broncos)
Wing: Jharal Yow Yeh (Brisbane Broncos)
Darren Lockyer (c) (Brisbane Broncos)
Johnathan Thurston (North Qld Cowboys)
Prop forward: Petero Civoniceva (Penrith Panthers)
Hooker: Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)
Prop forward: Matt Scott (Nth Qld Cowboys)
Second row: Ben Creagh (St George Illawarra Dragons)
Second row:
Sam Thaiday (Brisbane Broncos)
Lock forward: Paul Gallen (Cronulla Sharks)


Cooper Cronk (Melbourne Storm)
Ben Hannant (Brisbane Broncos)
Jamal Idris (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
Kade Snowden (Cronulla Sharks - late inclusion for the injured David Shillington)