You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
They have two of the meanest sounding nicknames in the game, but it is hard to imagine two more worthy contenders than “Rambo” and the “Mad Butcher” on the list of finalists for the 2011 One Community Awards.

Ronnie “Rambo” Gibbs, was one of the fiercest players in the game in the 80s; while the only thing “mad” about New Zealand businessman Sir Peter Leitch is his unrivalled passion for rugby league.

The two men embody the community spirit that underpins Rugby League’s prestigious One Community Awards, one of the game’s most high profile events, that will kick-off Grand Final week celebrations at Sydney Town Hall on Monday, September 26.

Gibbs, currently working for the Country Rugby League in Dubbo, and Sir Peter, known for the butcheries he founded in NZ as well as his charity, fundraising work and promotion of Rugby League, have both been nominated for their service to the community, one of 10 awards to be presented.

The fifth annual One Community Awards pay tribute to Rugby League’s volunteers, referees, teachers, grassroots clubs, women of the game and students, along with NRL players and clubs from across Australia and New Zealand.

The finalists for the 10 community awards in 2011 will be in the running for a prize pool worth more than $60,000.

The coveted Telstra Ken Stephen Medal will also be presented on the night, with an honour roll including One Community Ambassador Hazem El Masri, Peter Sterling, Wayne Pearce and last year’s recipient, Bulldogs retiring skipper Andrew Ryan.

The Learn Earn Legend! Award will be awarded for the first time this year to recognise outstanding achievement and application to education, employment, culture and the community by a young Indigenous Australian.

“The One Community Awards are our way of saying thank you to those who dedicate an extraordinary amount of time and effort to the game and the 2011 finalists are outstanding,” said NRL Director Community, Culture and Diversity Trish Crews.

“It is astounding to see the amount of hours that those across the game dedicate to Rugby League, more often than not on a voluntary basis.

“The One Community Awards is a truly inspiring event which provides an opportunity for us to personally thank those who work behind the scenes to make Rugby League the great game it is.”

The finalists for the 2011 One Community Awards are:

Telstra Ken Stephen Medal
Telstra will provide $5,000 to the winner and $5,000 to the winner’s favourite charity.
David Shillington (Canberra Raiders), Dene Halatau (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs), Luke Douglas (Cronulla Sharks), Preston Campbell (Gold Coast Titans), Brent Kite (Manly Sea Eagles), Dane Nielsen (Melbourne Storm), Ben Rogers (Newcastle Knights), Tariq Sims (Nth Qld Cowboys), Ben Smith (Parramatta Eels), Sam Thaiday (Brisbane Broncos), Luke Lewis (Penrith Panthers), Bronx Goodwin (St George Illawarra Dragons), Martin Kennedy (Sydney Roosters), Jerome Ropati (Warriors), Benji Marshall (Wests Tigers)

Telstra One Community NRL Club Program of the Year
Telstra will provide $10,000 towards the winning club’s community program and/or staff development training for community relations staff. 
Brisbane Broncos, Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs, North Queensland Cowboys, St George Illawarra Dragons, Parramatta Eels, Newcastle Knights, Manly Sea Eagles, Wests Tigers, Gold Coast Titans, Penrith Panthers, Cronulla Sharks, South Sydney Rabbitohs

Toyota National Volunteer of the Year
Toyota will provide $5,000 to the winner and $5,000 to the winner’s club 
Steve Barz (Wee Wah RLFC), Glenys Ellis (Arncliffe Scots JRLFC), Bob and Jan Christison (Ipswich Rugby League), Debbie Marzella (Gold Coast RL), Angela Van Der Poel (Wattles JRLC), Jacqueline Jones (Gladstone & District JRL Inc), Rees Leyshon (Rouse Hill JRLFC), Denis Anderson (Parramatta RLFC), Penny Morgan (Kellyville Bushrangers), John Cullen John (Group 2 Referees Association), Liz Prosser (Group 9 JRL),Terry Smith(Evans Head Bombers RLFC)

Harvey Norman Women in League Award: Volunteer
Harvey Norman will provide the winner with a $5,000 Harvey Norman gift voucher
Beverley Brankstone (Rockingham Coastal Sharks WA), Elizabeth McKinley (Lakes United RLC NSW), Madonna Bowers (Ipswich Junior RL QLD), Debbie Thomas (Cooma Stallions NSW)

Harvey Norman Women in League Award: Paid
Harvey Norman will provide the winner with a $5,000 Harvey Norman gift voucher
Kasey Badger (NSW Referees Association), Yvonne Purtell (Penrith Panthers), Helen Wright (ARLD NSW)
Telstra One Community Grassroots Club of the Year
Telstra will provide two Telstra Assistance Packs valued at $3,000 each plus $2,000 
Rockhampton Brothers JRLFC, Canley Vale JRLFC, Asquith RLFC

AAMI Service to the Community
AAMI will provide $5,000 towards the winner’s community program
Ronnie Gibbs, Northern Pride RLFC, Sir Peter Leitch

AAMI Service to Refereeing
AAMI will provide $2,500 to the winner 
Darren Winningham, Gold Coast Referees Association, Rodney Bowd, Tony Hardy, Group 4 CRL Referee Association 

ARL Development National Teacher of the Year
ARLD will provide $2,500 to the winning teacher and a $500 equipment pack for their school
Dan Dalziel (Cairns West State School), Steve Hooper (Red Bend Catholic College), Chris Bettiol (Marian College), John Koletti (Ashcroft Public School), Kathryn Drew (Woodport Public School), Tim Wykes (Kooringal High School)

Rugby League Learn Earn Legend! Award 
DEEWR will provide the winner with a $5,000 educational scholarship
Phillip Hunter (Wilcannia, NSW), Holly Wilson (Bundamba QLD), Zhane Saylor (Condon QLD)