You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Referees co-coach Bill Harrigan answers your questions from Round 21 of the NRL Telstra Premiership.

Sharks v Panthers

Did the ball travel 10 metres in the final kick-off before full time – explain the rule?

The referee made the right decision, the ball travelled 10 metres and crossed over the 40 metre line and then went into touch. To make things clear, all the ball needs to do is cross the plane of the 10 metres. Once it has done that, the ball is deemed to be in-play no matter where it finishes up.

For example, the ball could travel 10 metres and then be blown back 15 metres and it would still be deemed to be play-on.

In this instance the ball has crossed the plane, so it was rightly deemed play-on. It has then gone out in touch marginally over the 40 metre line, which means the referee rightly awarded the scrum feed to Penrith. It was a tight call, but they got it right.

Was there a Panthers player offside at the kick-off?

I think the Panthers' player is just in front of the kicker and could have been penalised for being offside. Both feet need to be behind the line at the kick-off and I think he is slightly in front.

Was Lachlan Coote offside from the charge down?

Lachlan Coote is offside. After close analysis today of this incident using slow motion replay, player Coote is in an offside position when he gains position of the ball following the charge down. It was a very difficult call for officials in this instance due to the speed at which the play eventuated and the decision which needed to be made in a split second. Unfortunately on this occasion the decision was incorrect.

The video referee couldn't rule on it because it was not the play leading directly to the scoring of points.

Sea Eagles v Warriors

Did the referee make the right call when David Williams was hit high – could this have been a penalty try?

This could potentially have been awarded a penalty try. The referee thought that David Williams had made a double-movement so he penalised the first infringement, which was a high tackle against the Warriors.

Bulldogs v Cowboys

Are you happy with the try given to Krisnan Inu in the first half? Did he have control as he wrestled the ball from the bomb to get it down?

Yes, the referees made the right decision. Inu gets the ball down with his left hand. The ball is on his right arm, but Inu manages to get the ball down with his left hand.

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners