You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Nominations open for the 2022 NRL Community Awards

Nominations are now open for the 2022 NRL Community Awards, which provide significant opportunity for our game’s unsung heroes to receive recognition for their tireless service to the community.

The categories included in the 2022 awards are: Volunteer of the Year, Community Rugby League Club of the Year, Women in League Award, Young Person of the Year Award and Indigenous Community Award, while a Teacher of the Year Award will also be handed out following nominations from NRL Game Development Officers in conjunction with Community Project Officers and NRL clubs.

To nominate someone for any of the above awards, click here.

How the award process works

A member of the Australian Rugby League Commission will chair the judging panel for each award category, along with senior representatives from across the game.

The process starts with your nomination, with select nominees then highlighted across the NRL's digital platforms and channels. 

Each state league will select one winner in each category, with those winners becoming an automatic finalist in the National Awards. The ARLC member will then chair the expert judging panel with representatives from across the game — including grass roots through to the elite level — to select the national winner.

The national winners will be announced on the NRL's digital platforms and will receive a VIP NRL Grand Final experience for two along with a $5,000 cash price and promotion of their community work by the NRL.

The nominator of the winning submission will also receive a $500 cash prize.

A minimum of 150 words and a maximum of 300 words for each nomination criteria question is required, so the more detail and thought that is put into the nomination, the greater chance for selection.

The importance of the NRL Community Awards

“This year we celebrate the NRL Community Awards 16th year, and since its inception in 2007 it has grown into rugby league’s most prestigious community-focused awards program,” said Acting Head of Participation, Community & Game Development, Andrew Every.

“The NRL Community Awards engage the entire rugby league family, demonstrating the deep connection between the grassroots and elite levels of the game.

"The awards honour the individuals and clubs who work tirelessly in the community to make rugby league Australia’s favourite sport.

"It is an opportunity for the game to showcase the hundreds of unheard uplifting and positive stories from the rugby league community — stories of the people, clubs and communities who contribute significantly to the success and love of the game," he added.

"I am excited to see and read the incredible nominations for 2022.

"I encourage everyone to jump online and nominate their local community rugby league hero. Nominate today, and nominate well!”

Of particular note is the new Indigenous Community Award, which is a new inclusion for the awards program in 2022.

“The introduction of the Indigenous Community Award will see recognition given to those across our rugby league community who help to shine a light and elevate opportunity for our Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities,” said Senior Manager - Indigenous Strategy, Shaun Humphries.

In addition to the grassroots community awards, the NRL will also run its annual ‘Ken Stephen Medal – Man of the Year’ and ‘Veronica White Medal – Woman of the Year’ awards. These are the NRL’s most prestigious community awards for NRL and NRLW Players, recognising the incredible contributions that so many of our elite players are making to their local communities and beyond.

Fans will have the chance to vote for their favourite nominee put forward by clubs during the fan vote campaign.

To nominate someone you know for any of the above awards, click here.

To learn more about the NRL Community Awards, click here.

If you have any further questions, please email

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners