Harvey Norman Women’s National Championship

NSW City has made amends for last year's disappointment to crush NSW Country 34-4 and win the Harvey Norman National Championships.

A hat-trick to Tiana Penitani – later announced as player of the tournament – inspired the City side, who were boosted by the inclusion of Jillaroos prop Simaima Taufa for the final.

In the earlier game, Combined Affiliate States grounded out a 10-4 victory over the Australian Defence Force to finish their campaign on a positive note. 

The ADF had a number of injury concerns to round out the tournament with Stephanie Kopp (shoulder) and Talesha Quinn (knee) leaving the field. 

NSW Country beat NSW City in last year's championship final 16-12 to be crowned 2018 champions.


  • Queensland Country 16 (Lana Sheedy 2, Layla Fauid tries; Lana Sheedy 2 goals) drew with South East Queensland 16 (Tanika Marshall, Karina Brown, Maitua Feterika tries; Ali Brigginshaw 2 goals)
  • Combined Affiliate States 10 (Cherysh Leaf, La-Toniya Norris tries; Kailey Thompson 1 goal) defeated Australian Defence Force 4(Morgan Higgins try)

Pool 1

  • South East Queensland (SEQ)
  • NSW City
  • Combined Affiliated States (CAS)

Pool 2

  • Queensland Country
  • NSW Country
  • Australian Defence Force (ADF)

Day 1 - Thursday

May 30

  • 12.00pm – CAS v NSW City
  • 1.15pm – ADF v NSW Country

Day 2 - Friday May 31

  • 12.00pm – CAS v SEQ
  • 1.15pm – ADF v QLD Country

Day 3 - Saturday June 1

  • 12.00pm – SEQ v NSW City
  • 1.45pm – QLD Country v NSW Country

Day 4 - Sunday June 2

  • 10.30am – Third (Pool A) v Third (Pool B)
  • 12.00pm – Second (Pool A) v Second (Pool B)
  • 1.45pm – First (Pool A) v First (Pool B)

2018 National Women's Championship

In June 2018 (1 – 3 June) the National Championship took place, featuring more than 120 players from across the country, competing across six teams.

The Harvey Norman Women’s National Championship has acted as the lead-in competition prior to the NRL Holden Women’s Premiership teams finalising their playing roster, ahead of the Premiership in September.

Prior to the Championship, a Talent ID was held on 31 May, allowing players from all sporting backgrounds, both inside and outside of rugby league, to test their skills and see if they had what it takes to play and perform at the elite level of rugby league.

The Championship involved six teams, with an Australian Defence Force team competing for the first time in the history of the event.

Other teams competing included:

  • Queensland City
  • Queensland Country
  • New South Wales City
  • New South Wales Country
  • Combined Affiliate States
  • Australian Defence Force

The 2018 Championship was run in conjunction with the QRL's State Men's Championship, together with the QRL's Women's Emerging Carnival.

To watch the 2018 matches visit the QRL website;

You can also view a 2018 event gallery on the NSWRL website

For more information on the 2018 teams visit the NSWRL and QRL websites: