You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Holden Women's Premiership

The Holden Women's Premiership is a newly formed competition that features some of the world's best female rugby league players. 

Four clubs – Brisbane Broncos, Sydney Roosters, St George Illawarra Dragons and New Zealand Warriors – successfully won licences for the inaugural 2018 season.

International and representative players were recruited by clubs under a specialised salary cap points system in the inaugural year before the second edition saw more than a 40 percent player turnover across the competition.

The Holden Women's Premiership is played as double-headers to the men's NRL regular season and finals series matches, while in 2019 there were two standalone fixtures at Sydney's Leichhardt Oval and Mt Smart Stadium in Auckland in a history-making experience.

The Broncos are the reigning champions with back-to-back premierships following wins over the Dragons and Roosters in recent years.

Two medals are awarded during the Holden Women's Premiership season. 

The Karyn Murphy medal is awarded to the player of the Holden Women's Premiership grand final. 

The Dally M medal is awarded to the player of the Holden Women's Premiership based on a 3-2-1 voting system throughout the season. 

Competition dates: August-October

Dragons centre Jessica Sergis.
Dragons centre Jessica Sergis. ©Gregg Porteous/NRL Photos

Key summary to the Holden Women's Premiership

  • Squads of 22
  • Team List timing announcements
  • Duration of matches: 60 minutes of regular time (two 30 minutes halves)
  • Interchanges: a total of 10 in regular time (with two interchanges available in the case of Golden Point)
  • 40/30 kick advantage: providing for tactical kicking and unpredictability during matches
  • Two on-field referees and the Bunker in use
  • Injury Surveillance, including the management of head injuries and/or concussion.
  • Judiciary procedures
  • Shot clocks

Golden point

For matches other than the grand final, in the event of a draw at the conclusion of regular time, golden point will apply, with a maximum of five minutes each way and the first team to score will win.

If neither team scores during golden point, a draw will be awarded.

In the case of a requirement for golden point in the grand final, five minutes extra time each way will be played (regardless of how many points are scored).

If, after 70 minutes, the game remains a draw, unlimited golden point will be played, with no change of ends or time limit, until a point is scored to determine the winner.

History of winners (runners up)

2019 - Brisbane Broncos (St George Illawarra Dragons)

2018 - Brisbane Broncos (Sydney Roosters)

List of Karyn Murphy medal winners 

2019 - Annette Brander (Brisbane Broncos)

2018 - Kimiora Nati (Brisbane Broncos)

List of Dally M medal winners 

2019 - Jessica Sergis (St George Illawarra Dragons)

2018 - Isabelle Kelly (Sydney Roosters)