Holden Women’s State of Origin

2018 was the year that the dream of a stand-alone Women's Origin came true with two great teams running out onto the field, captained by Blues skipper Maddie Studdon and Maroons Captain Karina Brown.

On a Friday night at North Sydney Oval in late June, NSW scored a late try to pull off a 16-10 victory and claimed the inaugural women's Holden State of Origin in front of 6824.

Scores were locked at 10-10 in a tense affair after both sides went try-for-try until Sam Bremner linked with Isabelle Kelly five minutes from full-time to snatch victory for the Blues.

Bremner was dominant for NSW, playing a part in all three tries, two of which were scored by Kelly, who later earned the official Woman of the Match award.

It is the third consecutive victory for the Blues over the Maroons and the first under the Origin banner.