You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Are Dally M Medal points awarded for representative matches, for example, State of Origin and Test Matches?

No. The Dally M's recognises the best players across the 25 Rounds of the NRL Telstra Premiership competition each year.

What happens when players are stood down from NRL Telstra Premiership matches for State of Origin duty?

To allow for the stand-down rounds during the State of Origin period and the fact Origin players have one less opportunity to earn Dally M points than non-Origin players, each player's best 23 matches are taken into account when determining the final tally for each player.

How is each player's position determined?

For each match, players are allocated the position they are assigned in the final team list, which is submitted by Clubs to the NRL one-hour prior to kick-off.

Where there is an injury or late withdrawal after the final team list is submitted, players will receive the position they take the field in at the start of the match.

Once determined, a player will retain that position regardless of whether he changes positions throughout the course of the match.

What happens when a player plays more than one (1) position throughout the season?

Players are assigned the position they polled the highest number of points in.

What happens in the event of a tie?

Where there is a tie for the Dally M Medal, co-winners will be announced. If those players also happen to be from the same position, they will also be announced as co-winners of that position in the Dally M Team of the Year.

Who is eligible for the Rookie of the Year?

Players are eligible for the Rookie of the Year in their debut season and the subsequent two NRL seasons. Once a player plays five (5) NRL Premiership matches (or English Super League matches), he becomes ineligible for the Rookie of the Year in any subsequent seasons.

The Rookie of the Year is voted on a 3-2-1 basis by the Dally M judges at the conclusion of the regular season. Voting on each of the Dally M Coach of the Year, Dally M Captain of the Year and the Provan Summons Medal also takes place at the conclusion of the regular season.

What does the Provan Summons Medal recognise?

The Provan Summons Medal is awarded to the player deemed by the Dally M Judges to have displayed the true ‘spirit of the game’ through their actions and conduct on-field. The winner of the prestigious medal is measured against four values: respect, honesty, bravery and sportsmanship. The award was previously selected by fans with an honour roll that includes Johnathan Thurston, Andrew Johns and Nathan Hindmarsh (who received the award on five separate occasions).

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner