You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

England coach Tony Smith today named 13 players in his initial train-on squad for the Gillette Four Nations which kicks off in five weeks time with a match between England and France at the Keepmoat Stadium, Doncaster.

All 13 players are from clubs not involved in the engage Super League play-offs and will commence training together for the first time next Monday ahead of the opening fixture on Friday October 23 and the Gillette Fusion international against Wales in Bridgend on Saturday October 17.

Players selected from the teams eliminated in this weekend’s play-offs will be given a week’s break and will join the squad on Monday September 28. The names of these players will be released on Thursday September 24.

Further players will be added to the train on squad throughout the play-offs. Tony Smith will then name his 24-man squad for the Gillette Four Nations at a press conference on Monday October 12.

The players named this morning are as follows:
Tom Briscoe (Hull FC)
Sam Burgess (Bradford Bulls)
Garreth Carvell (Warrington Wolves)
Tony Clubb (Harlequins)
Gareth Ellis (Wests Tigers)
Mickey Higham (Warrington Wolves)
Louie McCarthy-Scarsbrook (Harlequins)
Adrian Morley (Warrington Wolves)
Richard Myler (Salford City Reds)
Stefan Ratchford (Salford City Reds)
Paul Sykes (Bradford Bullss)
Danny Tickle (Hull FC)
Ben Westwood (Warrington Wolves)

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners