You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The Rugby League International Federation is pleased to announce Fiji TV and EM TV as principal broadcasters of the inaugural SP Brewery Pacific Cup to be held in Port Moresby from October 19.

The SP Pacific Cup 2009 will see Papua New Guinea, Fiji, Tonga, Samoa and Cook Islands compete for the chance to join Australia, New Zealand and England in the 2010 Four Nations tournament.

Today’s announcement ensures audiences throughout the Pacific will be able to tune in to the newest event on the international Rugby League calendar.

The Host broadcaster for the event is EM TV, which will broadcast nationally to audiences throughout Papua New Guinea for the duration of the tournament.

Fiji TV is set to broadcast each of the four matches throughout the Fiji Islands and through its Sky Pacific satellite platform, into Melanesia, Micronesia and Polynesia.

“To have the support of EM TV and Fiji TV as our broadcasters is another major boost for the tournament,” RLIF Chairman Mr. Colin Love AM said today.

“Pacific nations are famous for their flamboyant play and their matches really brought alive television coverage of last year’s Rugby League World Cup in particular.

“To be able to offer full coverage of this major tournament is terrific for fans across the region.

“Knowing the passion Pacific nations have for the game, we’re expecting the broadcasts to be very popular.”

Fiji TV General Manager International and Chief Executive Officer of Media Niugini Limited – operators of EM TV, Ken Clark said;

“Rugby League is a passion in Papua New Guinea and has an ever increasing following in all the other parts of the vast Pacific area we serve through Sky Pacific.

“We are delighted to have concluded an agreement that will provide coverage to all of these Pacific Island countries and to be a contributor to this very exciting event.”

Tonga, Fiji and PNG already have their place in the SP Pacific Cup draw confirmed while Samoa and the Cook Islands will stage a Pacific Cup qualifying match in Cairns on Saturday October 17 to determine the remaining position.

The four Pacific Cup matches will be held at Lloyd Robson Oval over the weekends of October 24-25 and October 31, with the final to be played on Sunday 1 November.

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners