You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
A forklift driver who dedicates 30 hours each week to his local club and a policeman from Lake Cargelligo who has grown a club from the brink of collapse are some of the outstanding finalists in Rugby League’s annual One Community Awards to be held tomorrow night, Monday, September 27 at the Sydney Town Hall from 7pm. <br><br> Set to be the most spectacular celebration in its four-year history, the One Community Awards pay tribute to members of Rugby League’s grass-roots communities from across the country, in a night which features the prestigious Telstra Ken Stephen Medal, awarded to an NRL player who has demonstrated ongoing and exceptional service to the game both on and off the field. <br><br> Those named as finalists for the 10 community awards will be in the running for a prize pool worth more than $60,000. <br><br> “Those in the room tomorrow night are just a handful of the tens of thousands of people who dedicate an enormous part of their lives to Rugby League’s grass-roots and the community at large,” NRL Director of Community Relations, Trish Crews, said. <br><br> “Each year we continue to be amazed at the level of commitment and the way in which these people inspire others. <br><br>“The One Community Awards are a great way for Rugby League’s dedicated volunteers, administrators, officials and players to be recognised for the work they do enriching people’s lives.” <br><br> <b>The finalists for the 2010 One Community Awards are: <br><br> Telstra Ken Stephen Medal </b><br><br> Telstra will provide $5,000 to the winner and $5,000 to the winner’s favourite charity. <br><br> Aaron Heremaia (New Zealand Warriors); Andrew Ryan (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs); Anthony Cherrington (Sydney Roosters); Chris Heighington (Wests Tigers); Corey Parker (Brisbane Broncos); David Williams (Manly Sea Eagles); Jarrod Mullen (Newcastle Knights); Luke Priddis (St George Illawarra Dragons); Petero Civoniceva (Penrith Panthers); Preston Campbell (Gold Coast Titans); Reece Williams (Cronulla Sharks); Ryan Hoffman (Melbourne Storm); Scott Bolton (North Queensland Cowboys); Tim Mannah (Parramatta Eels). <br><br> <b>Telstra One Community NRL Club of the Year </b><br><br> Telstra will provide $10,000 towards the winning club’s community program and/or staff development training for community relations staff. <br><br> All 16 NRL clubs are in contention for this award. <br><br> <b>Toyota National Volunteer of the Year</b> <br><br> Toyota will provide $5,000 to the winner and $5,000 to the winner’s club <br><br> Greg Carey (Warwick Cowboys, QLD); Justin Loxley (Lake Cargelligo JRL, NSW); Peter Mortimer (Balmain Tigers/Concord Wolves, NSW); Michael Tierney (Kiama JRL, NSW); Barry Jones (Minchinbury Penrith, NSW); Donna Okunbor (Milperra Colts, NSW); David and Cheryl Smith (South Sydney Juniors, NSW); Debra Gallop (Cairns Juniors, QLD); Steve Henderson (Middlemount Panthers, QLD); Glenn Bartlett (ISIS RLFC, QLD); Henry Louie (Gilgandra JRL, NSW); Col Wright (Nyngan Tigers, NSW); Erika Lampe (Walgett RLFC, NSW). <br><br> <b>Harvey Norman Women in League Award: Volunteer</b> <br><br> Harvey Norman will provide the winner with a $5,000 Harvey Norman gift voucher <br><br> Sue Fletcher (Springsure RLFC); Penny Morgan (Kellyville Bushrangers); Jennifer Hunt (Cronulla Sutherland RA); Jenny Nahu (Ngongotaha and Bay of Plenty RLFC, NZ). <br><br> <b>Harvey Norman Women in League Award: Paid </b><br><br> Harvey Norman will provide the winner with a $5,000 Harvey Norman gift voucher <br><br> Deanne Lees (Manly Sea Eagles); Yvette Downey (NSWRL); Diane Langmack (Penrith Panthers). <br><br> <b>Telstra One Community Grassroots Club of the Year</b> <br><br> Telstra will provide two Telstra Assistance Packs valued at $3,000 each plus $2,000 <br><br> Kellyville Bushrangers, NSW; Edmonton Storm RLC, QLD; Valleys Rugby League, Toowoomba QLD. <br><br> <b>AAMI Service to the Community</b> <br><br> AAMI will provide $5,000 towards the winner’s community program <br><br> Holroyd City Council, Paul Spiteri Disability Services; Chris Sheppard, Northern Pride Rugby League Club; Margaret Gordon, The Outback Challenge, CRL; Esme Tamati, Waitara RLFC (NZ). <br><br> <b>AAMI Service to Refereeing</b> <br><br> AAMI will provide $2,500 to the winner <br><br> Glenn Jeffcoat, Canterbury-Bankstown Referees; David Manson, Brisbane RLFA; Anthony Fletcher, Group 9 RAO, CRL. <br><br> <b>ARL Development National Teacher of the Year: Primary</b> <br><br> ARLD will provide $2,500 to the winning teacher and a $500 equipment pack for their school <br><br> Ken Hamill, Tully State Primary School; Graham Cummins, North Rocks Primary School; Helen Cooper, South Wagga Public School, CRL. <br><br> <b>ARL Development National Teacher of the Year: Secondary</b> <br><br> ARLD will provide $2,500 to the winning teacher and a $500 equipment pack for their school <br><br> Robert Anderson, Bentley Park College; Hamish Pearce, Victoria University Secondary College; Troy Weeden, Ashcroft High School.
Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners