You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
The fairy tale continued for Dragons hooker Dean Young today when he was named in the Kangaroos squad for the Four Nations, less than 24 hours after helping St George Illawarra win their first NRL Telstra Premiership as a joint venture club and the Dragons club's 16th title. <br><br> Yesterday's 32-8 victory over the Roosters at ANZ Stadium was incredibly emotional for Young, 26, whose father Craig Young was the captain of the last Dragons team to win a premiership for the famous club in 1979. <br><br> Today, he is one of six new faces in the 24-man squad for the Four Nations tournament involving Australia, England, New Zealand and Papua New Guinea from October 23 to November 13, with matches being played in Australia and New Zealand. <br><br> Selection also completes a fairy tale season for Dally M winner Todd Carney (Roosters) and Greg Bird (Titans) who both made successful returns to the NRL this year after a season in exile following off-field indiscretions. <br><br> The other newcomers are Matt Scott (Cowboys), Tom Learoyd-Lahrs (Raiders), Chris Lawrence (Tigers) and Nate Myles (Roosters). <br><br> The VB Kangaroos will play their opening match of the Four Nations against Papua New Guinea at Parramatta Stadium on October 24. <br><br> <b>The VB Kangaroos team is: Darren Lockyer (C), Sam Thaiday (Brisbane Broncos); Tom Learoyd- Lahrs, David Shillington (Canberra Raiders); Paul Gallen (Cronulla Sharks); Greg Bird (Gold Coast Titans); Anthony Watmough (Manly Sea Eagles); Cooper Cronk, Billy Slater, Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm); Kurt Gidley (Newcastle Knights); Matthew Scott, Willie Tonga (Nth Qld Cowboys); Jarryd Hayne (Parramatta Eels); Petero Civoniceva, Luke Lewis (Penrith Panthers); Darius Boyd, Brett Morris, Dean Young (St George Illawarra Dragons); Todd Carney, Nate Myles (Sydney Roosters); Brent Tate (New Zealand Warriors); Robbie Farah, Chris Lawrence (Wests Tigers).</b> <br><br> The Australian team's draw for the Four Nations tournament is: <br> <b>Australia v PNG – Sunday, October 24 – 4pm Parramatta Stadium <br> Australia v England – Sunday, October 31 – 6.30pm AAMI Park, Melbourne <br> Australia v New Zealand – Saturday, November 6 – 8.15pm Eden Park, Auckland <br> The Final will be played on Saturday, November 13, at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane, at 7pm.</b>
Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners