You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Australian coach Tim Sheens has today named a 20-man squad for Saturday’s Four Nations decider against the Kiwis at Brisbane’s Suncorp Stadium but only those named in the starting line-up are assured of their place. <BR><BR>The extended bench, made up of Tom Learoyd-Lahrs, Petero Civoniceva, Greg Bird, Kurt Gidley, Nate Myles, Anthony Watmough and Darius Boyd have been told their position in the side will depend on their performance at training this week. <BR><BR>Not included in the 20-man squad are RLIF International Player of the Year Todd Carney and fellow debutants Dean Young and Chris Lawrence, as well as Robbie Farah, who all played in the 34-20 win over New Zealand in Auckland last weekend. <BR><BR>Meanwhile Cowboys prop Matt Scott, who is one of 10 Queenslanders in the starting 13, has been rewarded for his barn-storming effort against the Kiwis last weekend. <BR><BR>Second rower Luke Lewis returns to the starting line-up after missing the NZ game with a calf injury from the clash with England in Melbourne two weeks ago. <BR><BR>The Kangaroos won’t be going into the match over-confident despite the comfortable 34-20 victory in Auckland with a Kangaroos side that included seven new faces, four of them debutants, while the likes of skipper Darren Lockyer and star fullback Billy Slater were rested. <BR><BR>The Kangaroos only have to look back to the 2008 World Cup Final at the same venue, when the Kiwis upset their more fancied rivals to snatch the major prize, despite the Aussies’ seemingly unbeatable form ahead of the match. <BR><BR><B>The team is: <BR>1. Billy Slater <BR>2. Brett Morris <BR>3. Brent Tate <BR>4. Willie Tonga <BR>5. Lote Tuqiri <BR>6. Darren Lockyer (C) <BR>7. Cooper Cronk <BR>8. Matthew Scott <BR>9. Cameron Smith <BR>10. David Shillington <BR>11. Luke Lewis <BR>12. Sam Thaiday <BR>13. Paul Gallen <BR>Interchange from:<BR>14. Tom Learoyd-Lahrs <BR>15. Petero Civoniceva <BR>16. Greg Bird <BR>17. Kurt Gidley <BR>18. Nate Myles <BR>19. Anthony Watmough <BR>20. Darius Boyd</B>
Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners