You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

European Super League champions, the Wigan Warriors, will take on Australian National Rugby League Premiers St George Illawarra Dragons in the World Club Challenge at the DW Stadium, in Wigan on Sunday February 27 2011, kick-off 7:15pm, the RFL have confirmed today.

Tickets to see who will be crowned the best club side on the planet will go on sale to fans from Monday November 15 and fans are being urged to book early to take advantage of the hottest ticket around.

The match is expected to be a mouth-watering clash featuring some of the best players in the world including international full back of the year Darius Boyd, Australian try scoring machine Brett Morris and New Zealand world-class pivot Nathan Fein pitting their wits against the best from the Warriors including the elusive Sam Tomkins, recently voted the best rookie in the world, and Warriors’ new signings Ryan Hoffman, Brett Finch and Jeff Lima, who will lead Wigan’s ascent on claiming their first world title since 1994.

Commenting on the return of the World Club Challenge to Wigan, RFL’s Marketing Manager, Phil Williams, said: “There is a real sense of anticipation throughout the country for this game between the best of the best in Rugby League

“Wigan are returning to their glorious past and there is no doubt that this game could be the catalyst to firmly put the Warriors as one of the world’s best club sides. A capacity crowd is expected for what is promised to be another classic encounter.”

Wigan have played in four past World Club Challenge finals, with the last being in 1994 against the Brisbane Broncos in Brisbane. This will be the first World Club Challenge final for the St George-Illawarra club.

Past World Club Challenge Results:
1976 - Eastern Suburbs 25 defeated St Helens 2
1987 - Wigan 8 defeated Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles 2
1989 - Widnes 30 defeated Canberra Raiders 18
1991 - Wigan 21 defeated Penrith Panthers 14
1992 - Brisbane Broncos 22 - 8 Wigan 8
1994 - Wigan 20 defeated Brisbane Broncos 14
2000 - Melbourne Storm 44 defeated St Helens 6
2001 - St Helens 20 defeated Brisbane Broncos 18
2002 - Bradford 41 defeated Newcastle Knights 26a
2003 - Sydney Roosters 38 defeated St Helens 0
2004 - Bradford 22 defeated Penrith Panthers 4
2005 - Leeds 39 defeated Canterbury Bulldogs 32
2006 - Bradford 30 defeated Wests Tigers 10
2007 - St Helens 18 defeated Brisbane Broncos 14
2008 - Leeds 11 defeat Melbourne Storm 4
2009 - Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles 28 defeated Leeds 20
2010 - Melbourne Storm 18 defeated Leeds 10

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners