You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Referees co-coach Bill Harrigan answers your most frequently asked questions from Round 5.


What was your thoughts on Brett Morris's try for the Dragons against the Broncos – did he knock on in grounding the ball?

The referees made the correct decision, the ball was grounded by Morris’s torso. Neither his hands or arms touched the ball in the effort to ground the ball, therefore it cannot be a knock on. You are allowed to ground the ball with your torso, which is exactly what Morris did.


What did you make of the strip call against Lote Tuqiri on Dave Taylor in final minutes of Rabbitohs' match against Wests Tigers.

This was a clear strip and warranted a penalty. Tuqiri deliberately played at the ball and stripped it from Dave Taylor’s possession, there were two players involved in the tackle so it was a clear penalty.

What is the rule around interchange when a player is put on report?

If a player is fouled by an opponent who is in consequence dismissed for the field or placed on report and the fouled player is caused to leave the field as a direct result of an injury sustained in that incident, this interchange will not be included for the purposes of calculating the number of interchanges a team can use, provided that it is made without delay and, in any case, by the time the referee has acted on the incident. Also, the subsequent interchange of the team of the fouled player will not be included for the purposes of calculating the number of interchanges.

Watch the Titans v Bulldogs match highlights

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners