Official View: Nightingale decision was wrong
Referees co-coach Start Raper answers your most frequently asked questions from all the Round 6 NRL action.
Why was Bulldogs hooker Michael Ennis penalised in a scrum – was this the correct ruling?
Yes, this was the correct call. Ennis was told by the referee to pack correctly and get his arms over the two front-row forwards. When he did not do this, the referee pulled it up and then penalised Ennis for dissent. The referee made the right ruling.
Were the Broncos offside in the 11th minute after the Wests Tigers had made a break? The Broncos went 80 metres to score two plays later at the other end of the field.
The only player who could have been penalised for being offside was Peter Wallace who was at marker. Wallace jumped out of marker too early in the play due to Tim Moltzen needing to wait for a teammate to arrive at dummy-half. Wallace could have been penalised.
What are your thoughts on the disallowed try for Jason Nightingale against the Sharks?
After meeting with all the video referees and analysing it a number of times we agreed that it should have been awarded a 'benefit of the doubt' try. The video referee got this decision wrong.