You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Club captains Braith Anasta, Luke Lewis, Terry Campese and Kurt Gidley are among 10 NRL stars announced today as finalists for the annual “Favourite Son” Award to be chosen during next month’s Harvey Norman Women In League Round.

The Roosters, Panthers, Raiders and Knights skippers respectively are joined by Matt Bowen (Cowboys), Joe Galuvao (Sea Eagles), Manu Vatuvei (Warriors), Ben Creagh (Dragons), Luke Burt (Eels) and Luke Bailey (Titans) as the final contenders for the award, chosen by Rugby League’s female supporters.

The Favourite Son Award is presented to a player who acts as a role model to younger players and whose off-field characteristics embody the true values of the Rugby League community.

On-line voting opens on Monday, 28 May, at and closes on June 15 with the winner to be announced at the 2012 Harvey Norman Women In League Round Sydney Lunch on June 19.

The Favourite Son Award was established in 2009 and past winners include Hazem El Masri (2009), Nathan Hindmarsh (2010) and Petero Civoniceva (2011).

“This award is about integrity, reputation, good sportsmanship and leadership … qualities that inspire women to become involved in Ruby League whether it may be as a parent, a coach, an executive, a fan or volunteer,” said ARL Commission General Manager of Community, Culture and Diversity, Ms Trish Crews. 

“All of the players nominated regularly undertake charity work or play mentoring and leadership roles within their own teams, clubs and local community.”

Inspirational Queensland and Australian representative, Petero Civoniceva, said it was “humbling” to receive the award last year.

“The great thing about these events and the Women in League Round is that we’re giving all the women across the game the recognition they deserve and that’s something that makes this award even more special,” Civoniceva said.

“Without the support of the women in the Rugby League community, I doubt the code would be as strong as it is today.”

The 2012 Harvey Norman Women In League Sydney Luncheon will kickstart a week of celebrations leading up to the official 2012 Women In League Round, Round 16 of the Telstra Premiership, from June 22-25.

The sixth annual celebration of the Harvey Norman Women In League initiative pays tribute to over 50,000 female volunteers, officials, players, employees and administrators at the heart of the game.

Click here to vote today

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners