Official View: Burgess no-try call correct
Referees co-coach Stuart Raper answers your most frequently asked questions from round 15 and State Of Origin II.
RABBITOHS v EELS
What were your thoughts on the no-try ruling against South Sydney's Luke Burgess?
South Sydney were not penalised for the push on Chris Sandow, but rather the involvement of Dave Taylor in the play. Taylor moves out deliberately in front of Luke Burt and prevents him from having any opportunity to make any kind of tackle. It has a big impact on the play and eventuates in Burgess crossing the line. We were very happy with the no-try ruling. They got the call correct.
SHARKS v WARRIORS
There were a few comments made about the Sharks v Warriors game from the coaches, what was your take on some of the plays?
• There was a tap forward by Warriors five-eighth James Maloney off a chip kick. We got that call wrong, the ball went forward. The referee had to stop to get out of the way but it should have been picked up by the officials.
• There was a dropped ball from a kick-off by Maloney. The ball goes back behind the line and is not propelled forward, it was play-on and they got that call right.
• There was a dropped ball from Feleti Mateo off a line drop-out and it is very inconclusive whether the ball is knocked-on or if he hits it in time and knocks it back. I was happy with the ruling on the field.
• Sharks utility John Morris was penalised for a strip and it was the wrong call.
STATE OF ORIGIN
Thoughts on the sin-binning of Cooper Cronk, did they get this call right?
We were happy with Steve Clarke's decision to put Cronk in the sin bin.
What was your thought on the Josh Morris try after Jarryd Hayne lost the ball, was the ruling that the ball was stripped and that Hayne kicked it?
This was the correct decision. Hayne is stripped of the ball by Johnathan Thurston, Hayne then kicks the ball forward and it is regathered by Josh Morris. The ball never actually touches the ground and as the ball was stripped, it is play on. They got this call right.
Should Queensland have been awarded a line drop-out after Michael Jennings appeared to hit the ball out of Brent Tate's hands as he attempted to score?
Michael Jennings knocks the ball out of the hands of Brent Tate and the ruling should have been a line drop-out. We got that one wrong.