You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

VB Kangaroos captain Cameron Smith has today been named the RLIF International Player of the Year – the highest individual honour in world rugby league.

The Storm Premiership-winning captain, who was also named International Hooker of the Year, was one of seven Australians to be named in the International Team of the Year, along with Storm team-mate Cooper Cronk (Halfback of the Year), while Storm coach Craig Bellamy was named International Coach of the Year.

The award caps another amazing season for Smith, who this year was named as the Kangaroos’ new captain, led Queensland to a record-breaking seventh consecutive State of Origin Series triumph, was named Dally M Hooker of the Year, led the Kangaroos to two Test victories over New Zealand and led the Melbourne Storm to the NRL Premiership.

It is the first time Smith has won the award, which was first presented in 2008 to Smith’s Storm, Maroons and Kangaroos team-mate Billy Slater. Other previous winners are Jarryd Hayne (2009), Todd Carney (2010) and Slater (2011).

England’s Ryan Hall (Winger of the Year) and James Graham (Prop of the Year) were the only non-Australian players to be selected in the International Team of the Year, while Kiwi sensation Shaun Johnson was named the International Rookie of the Year.

Australia’s Ben Cummins, who this season received the Col Peace Medal as the best-performed referee in the NRL, was named International Referee of the Year.

The awards are voted on by an international judging panel with representatives from both the northern and southern hemispheres.

In announcing the awards, Rugby League International Federation Chairman, Mr Scott Carter, praised the standard of international Rugby League and also acknowledged the strength of the current Kangaroos side.

“As we look forward to the Rugby League World Cup in the northern hemisphere in 2013, you can’t help but be excited at the talent that will be on display,” Mr Carter said.

“The strength of the Australian side at the moment has certainly been reflected in the International Team of the Year and while the Kangaroos will start the World Cup as warm favourites the competition that exists in international Rugby League will ensure the tournament will be as fascinating as it was in 2008 when New Zealand were crowned the World Champions.”

The RLIF International Player of the Year award winners are:

International Player of the Year – Cameron Smith (Aus)

International Coach of the Year – Craig Bellamy (Aus)

International Rookie of the Year – Shaun Johnson (NZ)


Fullback: Ben Barba (Aus)

Winger: Ryan Hall (Eng)

Centre: Jamie Lyon (Aus)

Five-Eighth: Johnathan Thurston (Aus)

Halfback: Cooper Cronk (Aus)

Lock: Paul Gallen (Aus)

Second Row: Nate Myles (Aus)

Prop: James Graham (Eng)

Hooker: Cameron Smith (Aus)

Competing Nations’ Players of the Year:

Canada: Tony Felix

Cook Islands: Tinirau Arona

Czech Republic: David Lahr

Fiji: Sisa Waqa

France: Vincent Duport

Germany: Mawuli Amefia

Ireland: Liam Finn

Italy: Fabrizio Ciaurro

Jamaica: Fabion Turner

Japan: Noriyuki Tainaka

Malta: Clifford Debattista

Morocco: Souhail Ait Alla

Lebanon: Danny Barakat

Papua New Guinea: Dion Aye

Russia: Sergey Konstantinov

Samoa: Tony Puletua

Scotland: John Duffy

Serbia: Stefan Nedeljkovic

South Africa: Stevie Meyer

Sweden: Tobias Rorstam

Tonga: Brent Kite

USA: Michael Garvey

Wales: Rhodri Lloydd

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners