You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The best twelve Wheelchair Rugby League athletes selected to represent Australia at this year's Festival of Rugby League World Cups in the UK, have been announced in a special presentation by Holden Kangaroos Coach Tim Sheens, NSW Blues Coach, Laurie Daley and Australian Wheelchair Rugby League coach Steve Hewson in Sydney this evening.

The announcement  was made at the Morris Iemma Indoor Sports Centre at Narrabeen, coinciding with the last round of the NSW Wheelchair Rugby League season, which saw the St George Dragons take home the 2012/2013 Minor Premiership.

“I congratulate every single athlete who has made this team tonight,” Holden Kangaroos Coach Tim Sheens said.

“A place on the World Cup team means that you are at the top of your game and you should be incredibly proud of yourselves.

“It has been a terrific season to this point and I would like to thank every athlete who has competed. I look forward to the finals for the season and seeing this World Cup squad on the International stage in July.”

The World Cup will be hosted by the UK in July, bringing together the best Wheelchair Rugby League athletes from England, France, Wales, Scotland, Malta and Australia.

Chairman of Wheelchair Rugby League Australia Joe Chidiac said, "We have a lot of talented athletes that could have made this side.”

“Our team will not only do themselves and this country proud but we fully intend to be noticed by every other country and give this tournament a real shake up".

Name Club Suburb
Tano Bagnato Canberra Raiders Concord West
Rhys Baxter Sydney Roosters Five Dock
CJ Grogan Sydney Roosters Greenwich
Keegan Oh-Chee Sydney Roosters Eastwood
Jason Voncina Penrith Panthers Lurnea
Ric Engles Penrith Panthers Kogarah
Daniel Begman South Sydney Rabbitohs Elderslie
Colin Smith South Sydney Rabbitohs Appin
Brad Grove Newcastle Knights Currens Hill
Fabian Castillo Newcastle Knights Prestons
Craig Cannane St George-Illawarra Dragons Chipping Norton
Yara Ryan St George-Illawarra Dragons Five Dock

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners