You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Shayne Hayne and Ashley Klein have been appointed to referee Game I of the 2013 Holden State of Origin Series at Sydney’s ANZ Stadium on Wednesday, June 5.

NRL Referees Elite Performance Manager, Mr Daniel Anderson, today announced the appointments with Russell Turner and Steve Carrall the Touch Judges and Steve Clark and Henry Perenara the Video Referees.

The series opener will be Klein’s first Origin match and Hayne’s ninth.

“We had a number of referees who, through their performances, have shown they are ready to officiate in a match of this calibre and that is a credit to the hard work of the entire Match Officials squad,” Anderson said today.

“Shayne and Ashley have consistently been among the best-performed referees each week and have certainly earned the right to represent the Match Officials team on this stage.

“On behalf of all the Match Officials I wish to congratulate the entire officiating team on their appointments.”

The full list of Match Officials is:

Referees: Shayne Hayne Ashley Klein

Standby Referee: Matt Cecchin

Touch Judges: Russell Turner Steve Carrall

Standby Touch Judge: Grant Atkins

Video Referees: Steve Clark Henry Perenara (Assistant)

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners