You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Untitled Document

Rugby League’s longest-serving representative Captain Karyn Murphy and World Cup veteran Tahnee Norris have been named as co-captains to lead the 2013 Jillaroos into battle at the Festival of the World Cups in Leeds next month.

The two stars have more than 30 years of experience between them with Murphy having played in every World Cup since the introduction of the women’s competition in 2000.

She has led squads into battle for more than 15 years including the Women’s All Stars and QLD with the State representative having played alongside teammate Norris in a winning streak for the Maroons now spanning over 15 years.

“It’s a huge honour any time to be selected to represent your country and being selected to captain this team going into our fourth World Cup,” Murphy said.

“I am really excited about this squad, I think we have a great opportunity to take the Cup off New Zealand who have won the past three.”

The Australian team is expected to face strong opposition from hosts England and cross-Tasman rivals New Zealand.  The NZ Ferns have won all three World Cups since its inception in 2000.

Norris will lead the side as the Tour Captain while Murphy will lead the side on the field

“It is always a special experience and to be given that honour to such a great team is fantastic and I just can’t wait to get out there,” Tahnee Norris said.

In an emotional presentation former Coach Graham Murray who had to step aside due to health reasons addressed the squad and presented the team with their jerseys which features the Australian coast of arms on the women’s.

“When you get selected onto a footy team it’s about your ability and I have know that every single one of these women has that ability,” Murray said.

“But most importantly it’s how you come together as a team that is the most crucial part and to me, looking around this room, you can’t be left in better hands than people supporting around and your own teammates.”

The Jillaroos will depart from Sydney on 2 July with the tour timetable and full squad listed below.

 2013 Jillaroos Squad:

Emma Young (Maitland, NSW)
Elianna Walton (Canley Heights, NSW)
Julie Young NSW (Maitland, NSW)
Ruan Sims (Cronulla, NSW)
Jessica Palmer (Penrith, NSW)
Jo Barrett (Brighton, QLD)
Rebecca Young (Maitland, NSW)
Samantha Hammond (Helensburgh, NSW)
Emily Andrews NSW (Helensburgh, NSW)
Alex Sulusi (Canley Heights, NSW)
Tegan Chandler (Helensburgh, NSW)
Emma Tonegato (Helensburgh, NSW)
Jenni-Sue Hoepper (Springfield QLD)
Deanna Turner (Mackay, QLD)
Heather Ballinger (Cairns, QLD)
Nat Dwyer (Augustine Hills, QLD)
Renae Kunst (West End, QLD)
Steph Hancock (Killarney, QLD)
Tahnee Norris (Robina, QLD)
Carina Brown (QLD)
Karyn Murphy (West End, QLD)
Ali Brigginshaw (Ripley, QLD)
Amber Saltner (Cherbourg, QLD)
Tarah Westera (Penrith, NSW)


Jillaroos Coaching staff
Paul Dyer - head coach, Michael Hancock- Assistant coach / trainer, Fletcher Holmes- assistant coach/ trainer, Pam Goodridge- Trainer, Lisa Rollo- Physio, Murray Stalley- Team Manager, Debbie Brewin- NRL Tour leader.

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners