You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Queensland are sticking with the same 17 for the decider.

Queensland has today named an unchanged line-up for the deciding game of the Holden State of Origin series against New South Wales at ANZ Stadium on Wednesday, July 17.

The Maroons are unaffected by injuries and Coach Mal Meninga named the same side that performed a 26-6 demolition job of the Blues in game II at Suncorp Stadium.

While Queensland will stick with their winning formula and are on the verge of claiming an unprecedented eighth straight series victory, the Blues have already been forced to make changes due to injury with Jarryd Hayne replaced by James McManus.

It might not be the only change the Blues are forced to make with a number of key players under a fitness cloud. Captain Paul Gallen and forward Greg Bird were both sporting moonboots on Monday morning and are in doubt for the clash despite being named in the starting line-up.

In contrast, the Maroons will head into camp today full of fitness and confidence.

Johnathan Thurston will be looking for a perfect preparation after struggling with a groin complaint in the opening game, before needing hospitalisation on the eve of game II – where he literally got out of his hospital bed to star for the Maroons. If Thurston – who is the only player to have played in every single game of Queensland’s seven year dominance, is fully fit, it could spell massive dramas for New South Wales.

Daly Cherry-Evans will reprise his role off the bench, as will Josh Papalii.

Jacob Lillyman has been named as 18th man and Will Chambers 19th to cover any possible injuries during the build-up.

ANZ Stadium is officially sold-out for Game III.

Queensland team for Origin Decider at ANZ Stadium on Wednesday, July 17

  1. Billy Slater - Melbourne Storm
  2. Darius Boyd - Newcastle Knights
  3. Greg Inglis - South Sydney Rabbitohs
  4. Justin Hodges - Brisbane Broncos
  5. Brent Tate - North Queensland Cowboys
  6. Johnathan Thurston - North Queensland Cowboys
  7. Cooper Cronk - Melbourne Storm
  8. Matt Scott - North Queensland Cowboys
  9. Cameron Smith (c) - Melbourne Storm
  10. Nate Myles -Gold Coast Titans
  11. Chris McQueen - South Sydney Rabbitohs
  12. Sam Thaiday - Brisbane Broncos
  13. Corey Parker - Brisbane Broncos
  14. Daly Cherry-Evans - Manly Sea Eagles
  15. Ben Te’o - South Sydney Rabbitohs
  16. Matt Gillett - Brisbane Broncos
  17. Josh Papalii - Canberra Raiders
  18. Jacob Lillyman - New Zealand Warriors
  19. Will Chambers - Melbourne Storm

Coach: Mal Meninga

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners