You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

World Cup winning Jillaroos Captain and Police Investigator Karyn Murphy has been named as one of six finalists for the 2013 Harvey Norman Women in League Award, to be announced at the annual NRL One Community Awards that will kick off the Telstra Premiership Grand Final Week.

Brisbane-based Murphy is joined by Yolande Morris (Darwin, NT), Connie Dallas (Jamberoo, NSW), Karen Sassine (Earlwood, NSW), Sharon Sellers (Adelaide, SA) and Charmain Acton (Barcaldine, QLD) as the finalists for the prestigious award, which is presented to a woman who has shown outstanding support in the progression and opportunity for women in Rugby League.

“Karyn is retiring this year but leaves a tremendous legacy for other female Rugby League players to aspire to,” said Jillaroos Tour Leader Debbie Brewin.

“She is a fantastic role model who has and will continue to do whatever it takes to promote women in the sport.

"Her contribution to advancing opportunities for women in Rugby League is second to none and the team couldn't be more proud of her nomination for the Women in League Award. She is a truly deserving recipient."

The award will be announced at the seventh annual NRL One Community Awards on Monday, 30 September, at Sydney’s Town Hall, which is set to be an inspiring evening of celebration for the contributions made by Rugby League’s unsung heroes including volunteers, grassroots clubs, teachers, students, and NRL players.

“Every year we are blown away by the tireless contributions made by those in the grassroots Rugby League community,” said NRL Interim Community, Culture and Diversity General Manager, Mr Mark deWeerd.

“The efforts made by the 2013 finalists continue to inspire me and I couldn’t be more proud that the NRL is able to highlight the significant role volunteers play in our Game.”

The One Community Awards has a prize pool of over $50,000 across eight awards with Harvey Norman providing $2,500 to the winner of the 2013 Women in League award.

Other award categories include the Ken Stephen Medal presented by Telstra, Holden National Volunteer of the Year, Telstra One Community Grassroots Club of the Year, AAMI Service to Refereeing, AAMI Service to the Community Award, National Teacher of the Year (Primary and Secondary School) and the Young Indigenous Learn Earn Legend! Award.

The 2013 Ken Stephen Medal finalists were announced earlier this month with club captains Michael Ennis, Terry Campese, Ben Creagh, Tim Mannah, Kurt Gidley and Nate Myles among the 15 nominated NRL players.

Follow the NRL One Community Twitter feed @rlonecommunity and the official NRL Twitter feed @NRL, and ‘like’ the NRL One Community Facebook page to keep up to date with all of the latest information.

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners