You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
The Provan Summons award is the ‘fans’ choice’, presented to the best player of the year as voted by you the fans.
Provan-Summons Award

The Provan-Summons Award is the ‘fans’ choice’ award, presented to the best NRL player at the culmination of each season at the Dally M awards.

NRL fans were given the opportunity to vote on who they thought had been the best player in the 2013 NRL season in phase one of voting.

Phase two brought together the most popular 10 players as voted by the fans in phase one, for a final vote to determine the recipient of the Provan-Summons Award.

The final 10 players chosen by the fans were: Sam Burgess (South Sydney), Billy Slater (Melbourne), Greg Inglis (South Sydney), Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland), James Maloney (Sydney Roosters), Sonny Bill Williams (Sydney Roosters), Andrew Fifita (Cronulla), Adam Reynolds (South Sydney), Cameron Smith (Melbourne) and Cooper Cronk (Melbourne).

Voting for the Provan-Summons Award is now closed, with the winner to be announced during Grand Final Week at the Dally M awards night on Tuesday, October 1.

Previous winners of the prestigious award include Ricky Stuart, Bradley Clyde, Terry Lamb, Laurie Daley, Brad Fittler, Andrew Johns, Darren Lockyer and Nathan Hindmarsh.

Provan-Summons Trophy

The National Rugby League and Telstra have announced that Rugby League’s most cherished prize – the Telstra Premiership Grand Final Trophy – has been renamed the Provan-Summons Trophy.

Rugby League icons Norm Provan and Arthur Summons learned the news at a specially convened meeting at the Sydney Cricket Ground as they revisited the location of their historic embrace that followed the 1963 Grand Final.

Its message of triumph, courage and sportsmanship on a muddied SCG pitch has become one of the most enduring symbols of the game.

Their sculptured image, based on the historic image of the late Fairfax photographer John O’Gready, has been a feature of every Premiership trophy since 1982.

This is the first time, however, that it has been named the Provan-Summons Trophy.

Mr Provan and Mr Summons were surprised with the news as they went to mark the very spot where they stood 50 years ago, not knowing of the tribute the NRL and naming rights partner Telstra had in store.

“If I drop dead tomorrow I will always be happy with the life Rugby League has given me,” Provan said afterwards.

“I’ve played a lot of football and I'm sure there are a lot of other worthy recipients.

“I am immensely pleased with it and it will sink in later how much it means.”

Summons added: “I don't think you can put it in to words the emotions that you feel. It is probably the greatest honour old footballers can get to have the Premiership trophy named after you.

“I am extremely honoured and I’m sure Norm is as well. A lot of thanks should be going to the photographer. Unfortunately the great John O'Gready is not with us to share this moment with us. Without him we would have been forgotten 50 years ago.”

The NRL’s principal sponsor Telstra is a willing partner in dedicating the trophy in honour of the two great heroes.

NRL Chief Executive, Mr Dave Smith, paid tribute to Norm and Arthur for their ongoing legacy to the game:

“Not only were they legendary players but they have been the most amazing ambassadors for the game,” Mr Smith said.

“Nobody can think of Grand Final Day without ‘The Gladiators’ image coming to mind and it has been tremendous to work with Telstra to make this tribute possible.”

Mr Smith said Telstra had been a driving force in dedicating the trophy in honour of the two great Rugby League heroes.

Group Managing Director, Telstra Media, Mr Rick Ellis, said Telstra was proud to support the dedication of the Telstra Premiership Trophy to two players who embodied the true legacy of the game.

“Norm Provan and Arthur Summons showed fans and players alike that there was something more enduring than the score-line and today their legacy reminds us that the business of sport is about great people and great champions,” Mr Ellis said.

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners