You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Bulldogs and Rabbitohs fans will witness first-hand the intensity, toughness and endurance of the NSW Physical Disability Rugby League competition when they are treated to an exhibition game between the Eastern Stingrays and the South Sydney Outlaws at half-time of Friday night’s Telstra Premiership blockbuster at ANZ Stadium.

Established in 2010, the NSW Physical Disability Rugby League Association has grown from two teams to four teams and now hosts an annual Premiership season.

The Association now has over 50 registered players whose disabilities include cerebral palsy, acquired brain injuries and muscular atrophy.

“To know that we will be taking to the field at ANZ Stadium on Friday night is an amazing outcome for our playing group,” NSW PDRL Chairman George Tonna said.

“Rugby League is all about inclusiveness and while our players will never possess the strength or speed of players like Greg Inglis or Michael Ennis, we all share a passion for the same sport, which is wonderful.

“We look forward to showing the fans at the game another opportunity for their families or friends to get involved in The Greatest Game Of All.”

In the match, players wear either black or red shorts. Players wearing red shorts play touch football rules when attempting to “tackle” or be “tackled”. It is compulsory for players who are under the age of 18 years of age to wear red shorts. Players wearing black shorts will play the standard NRL tackle rules.

Able-bodied players are able to play PDRL, with two per team allowed on the field at any time. Able-bodied players cannot score tries, kick goals or kick in general play. A tackle is effected on an able-bodied player by a touch only, as per red shorts players.

Previous exhibition games have included the likes of Manoa Thompson, Sean Garlick and Jason Stevens.

The teams are:

South Sydney Outlaws:  (wearing Souths jerseys)

1. Kevin Mundy- Jervis Bay
2. David Grech- Campbelltown area
3. Jono Smith- Cabramatta area
4. Marco Quintao (RS)
5. Gary Kingi- Blacktown area
6. Tom Healy (AB)
7. Liam Healy (AB).
8. Capri Reid (RS)
9.  Anthony Pragnell (RS)


Eastern Stingrays: (Wearing Roosters jerseys)

1. Kyle Schaberg- Northern beaches area
2. Geoff Clarke- Newcastle area  
3. Joel Pragnell (RS)
4. Dylan Jobson-  northern beaches  
5. Tim Ragg
6. Eddie Sharpe (RS)- Summer Hill area
7. Jade Ferguson (AB)
8. Nick Healy (AB)
9. Bill Bussell- Minto area

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners