You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Three Australian touch football representatives and three members of the World Cup-winning Jillaroos will be among 25 women to trial on Saturday in Newcastle for a place in the NSW Indigenous women's Rugby League team to take part in the 2014 Festival of Indigenous Rugby League.

Jillaroos sisters Julie and Emma Young and sister-in-law Bec Young will join touch football reps Caitlyn Moran, Nakia Welsh-Davis and Simone Smith at the University of Newcastle trial for a place in the 18-member NSW team.

The team, to be named on Saturday, will play against the Queensland Indigenous women's team in one of two curtain-raisers to the trial between the Knights and the First Nations Goannas at Hunter Stadium on February 8.

Taking the place of the traditional All Stars match in 2014, the matches will mark the culmination of a week-long celebration that will also feature the NRL Indigenous Players Cultural Camp, community and school visits, a community festival; a match between the NSW and QLD U16 boys teams; and the annual Murri v Koori Interstate Challenge.

The All Stars concept will return in 2015 with the NRL All Stars v Indigenous All Stars match rested in 2014 following the World Cup.

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners