You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Players from nine clubs have been selected for the Holden Cup Team of the Year which was unveiled by the NRL today.
Head of Football, Todd Greenberg said the National Youth Competition, known as the Holden Cup, is proving more important than ever before in preparing young players for the NRL.
He said the NYC had developed a host of young stars in 2014 who were already establishing themselves as first grade regulars.
These include Jake Mamo (8 first grade games), Joseph Tapine (7) and Sione Mata'utia (5) from Newcastle, Valentine Holmes (5) from the Sharks, Nene Macdonald (7) from the Roosters and Tepai Moeroa (7) from the Eels who had all been included in the Holden Cup Team of the Year.
"Some of these players, like Nene and Tepai, may have the opportunity to play Finals football in the NRL this year," Mr Greenberg said.
"That is an incredible achievement – to go from the youth competition to the finals of the toughest competition in the world in the same year.
"But I think that indicates how strong the Holden Cup has become – and how well it prepares our young players for the NRL."
Among the players from last year's Holden Cup Team of the Year who played first grade this year were Luke Brooks, Michael Lichaa, Bryce Cartwright, Corey Oates and Dallin Watene-Zelezniak.
Mr Greenberg said the Holden Cup had been closer than ever this year with more than 50 games being decided by a margin of 6 or less.
Mr Greenberg said he was particularly pleased that so many Holden Cup players were taking on full time careers in addition to their football.
"Naturally we hope our young players will have successful NRL careers but the reality is that many of them will not become full time footballers.
"So it is important they pursue other employment and the NRL provides careers advice to help them move into tertiary studies and other work.
"It is no surprise, therefore to see members of the team of the year working in everything from hospitality and small business to nutrition and telecommunications." 
The official Holden Cup team of the year is:

Holden Cup Team of the Year
1. Jake Mamo (Knights)
2. Valentine Holmes (Sharks)
3. Sione Mata'utia (Knights)
4. Brendan Elliot (Roosters)
5. Nene MacDonald (Roosters)
6. Te Maire Martin (Tigers)
7. Drew Hutchinson (Dragons)
8. Andy Saunders (Panthers)
9. Manaia Cherrington  (Tigers)
10. Sam Lisone (Warriors)
11. Nelson Asofa-Solomona (Storm)
12. Tepai Moeroa (Eels)
13. Willis Meehan (Roosters)
14. Danny Levi (Knights)
15. Joseph Tapine (Knights)
16. Addin Fonua-Blake (Dragons)
17. Kane Elgey (Titans)
Coach: Mick Crawley (Knights)

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners