You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
The Vanuatu team to take on the Phillippines poses for a picture out the front of a local Westpac branch.
Well-known rugby league names such as Meninga, Srama and Gordon will be on display when Vanuatu meets the Phillippines in a rugby league Test in Vanuatu today.

Joey Meninga, nephew of Mal plays for Sunshine Coast in the Intrust Super Cup. He will line up in the second row for the local side while the brothers of Gold Coast Titans pair Kevin Gordon and Matt Srama, Dennis Gordon and Luke Srama, will line up at centre and wing respectively for the Phillippines.

The Vanuatu side features a strong local contingent, with 11 players born in Vanuatu and 10 players from the local competitions in Port Vila and Santo.

Four Westpac Vanuatu Rugby League (VRL) players in David Lolo, Filimone Masei, Xavier Philip and Shayne Tuilagi will make their debuts against the Asian Champions Philippines Rugby League team, known as the Tamaraws at Chapius Stadium, in Espiritu Santo in Vanuatu.

The side will be captained by Intrust Super Cup player James Wood, who returns after missing the 2013 games through injury, and Samuela Loaloadravu, who led the side to two victories over Solomon Islands and Niue in Woods absence will be the teams Vice-Captain. Wood, a powerful runner of the football, is co-captain of Tweed heads.

Coach and former player John Nash was excited about his team's prospects.

"We've only had a short preparation but it has all been about quality work. The experienced players from Australia have mixed really well with the local based players that have been highly impressive so far," he said.

Philippines coach Clayton Watene credited the hospitality the side had experienced since being in Vanuatu.

"It is one of the most beautiful places we've ever visited and everyone is having a great time. Everyone has a smile on their faces and is super friendly and we can’t wait for the atmosphere at the game tomorrow, it is going to be great," Watene said.

The Test match will also feature the annual inter-provincial match between the Port Vila representative side and the Santo Boars, which along with the Test will act as selection event for the High Performance squad. This involves specialised training and opportunity for selection in VRL squads moving forward, including the 2015 Pacific Games in PNG.

To keep up to date follow the Vanuatu Rugby League on Facebook or check out the recently launched website at: 

Tickets can be purchased at The Espiritu hotel reception or at the gates.

The final 19 man Vanuatu squad (including squad development players Dominique Sablan and Ben Henderson) and playing number is:
1. Shayne Tuilagi
2. Xavier Philip
3. Jason Pakoasongi
4. Nelson Law
5. Sweeny Sablan
6. James Wood (C)
7. Joshua Tanner
8. David Lolo
9. Anthony Delaivuna 
10. Herbie Henderson
11. Joey Meninga
12. Sam Pierce
13. Samuela Loaloadravu
14. Alex Philip
15. Filimone Masei
16. Ben Lui 
17. Jean Pierrez Kenie
18. Erick Tosusu 
19. Tonny Lui
20. Dominique Sablan
21. Ben Henderson

Final 18 man squad for the Philippines:

1. Richard Goodwin
2. Jonico Hardwick
3. Shane Gray
4. Dennis Gordon
5. Steve Tolo
6. Arwin Marcus
7. Paul Sheedy
8. Dylan Jones
9. Luke Srama (C)
10. Glen Power
11. Steveb Bernstrom
12. Sam Bernstrom
13. Rez Phillips (VC)
14. Ellis Jensen
15. Micah Hines
16. Scott Donnelly
17. Fred Colina
18. Justin Wrigley
Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners