You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Could Newcastle's kicking game go to another level in 2015 with the mentoring of an AFL veteran?

The Newcastle Knights announced an 18-man Auckland Nines squad on Tuesday, with Jarrod Mullen named as captain.

A total of 10 of this year’s squad, including Nathan Ross, Paterika Vaivai, and Tyler Randell, will get their first taste of the Nines format when the tournament kicks off on January 31.

All three Mata’utia brothers have been included in the 2015 squad while it will be the first game in red and blue for new recruits Jack Stockwell and Carlos Tuimavave.

Under 20s captain Danny Levi has also been selected after training with the NRL squad over the summer. 

The Knights has been grouped in the Rangitoto pool, and will play Parramatta, Manly and St George at the Eden Park.


1. Sione Mata'utia
2. Jake Mamo
3. Dane Gagai
4. Chanel Mata'utia
5. Carlos Tuimavave
6. Jarrod Mullen (c)
7. Tyrone Roberts
8. Pat Mata'utia
9. Adam Clydsdale
10. Paterika Vaivai
11. Tyler Randell
12. Chris Houston
13. Robbie Rochow
14. Nathan Ross
15. Korbin Sims
16. Joseph Tapine
17. Jack Stockwell
18. Danny Levi

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners