You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

South Sydney have claimed the 2015 Dick Smith NRL Auckland Nines following an extra-time final which was finally ended by Matt King's golden try.

The Rabbitohs, who took out the trophy just months after celebrating their NRL Telstra Premiership success, defeated a gallant Cronulla 18-14 in an epic final.

Adam Reynolds also took out Player of the Tournament honours for the Rabbitohs, who went through the Nines undefeated.

Cronulla had been undefeated until the decider, knocking out favourites the Warriors in the quarter-final stages along the way to a spot in the final. The Sharks had beaten the Roosters while the Rabbitohs were too good for the Eels in the semi-finals.

In the women's series, the NZ Kiwi Ferns held up the trophy at the end of the day, taking out their three-match series against the Jillaroos, 2-1.

The Kiwi Ferns won the opening two matches of the series before the Jillaroos took out the third and final game 8-7. For the first time, matches between the two women's teams were watched by a live television audience in New Zealand via Sky Sport and Australia via FOX SPORTS.

NRL Head of Football Todd Greenberg commended the efforts of all those involved, including tournament partners ATEED and Duco Events.

"It has been a hugely successful week here in Auckland, kicked off by the NRL Season Calendar launch on Thursday night, followed by Friday's Fan Day at Aotea Square attended by thousands and then some exceptionally skilful football seen here at Eden Park over the last two days," he said.

"We would like to thank the city of Auckland and the fans who have come out. Auckland has certainly put on a fantastic show and we look forward to returning again next year.

"NRL Clubs have played in this tournament with great spirit and that is what the Nines concept is all about -  competitive football in a fun filled atmosphere for the fans."

Most Valuable Player: NRL Auckland Nines
Adam Reynolds

Most Valuable Player: Women's Series
Laura Mariu

NRL Auckland Nines Team of the Tournament 
1. Corey Norman – Eels
2. Adam Reynolds – Rabbitohs
3. Issac Luke – Rabbitohs
4. George Burgess – Rabbitohs
5. Michael Morgan – Cowboys
6. Solomone Kata – Warriors
7. Chris Heighington – Sharks
8. Wade Graham – Sharks
9. Blake Ayshford – Sharks

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners