You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Paul Gallen talks with referee Ashley Klein in Round 19.

NRL referees boss Tony Archer has confirmed two contentious calls at the conclusion of the Round 19 Raiders-Sharks clash on Saturday afternoon were incorrect.

In his weekly Referee Review on NRL.com, Archer said both calls which centred around a possible try to Sharks prop Andrew Fifita weren't handled correctly, but backed the initial call of the on-field referee.

"At the end of the game, the referee on-field sent up a decision to be reviewed, with a live decision of a try," Archer said. 

"The video referees have reviewed it, there's one angle that supports them overturning it, but the other two angles certainly support the decision of a try.

"It was an incorrect decision, which should've been confirmed as a try."

 

Archer then turned his attention to the resulting penalty awarded to Cronulla, claiming that instead of the visiting side being offered the chance to draw level with a penalty, they should've been awarded a penalty try. 

"It was a penalty given for contact by the Canberra Raider before Fifita gets the ball. 

"In the circumstances of that occurring, and they go to overturn it, it should be a penalty try, but rest assured the first decision should've been confirmation of the live decision."

For more on refereeing decisions from Round 19, view Archer's full interview here.