Archer backs Taupau decision
The decision to sin bin Martin Taupau during Friday night's clash between the Roosters and Wests Tigers was the right one, according to NRL referees boss Tony Archer.
During his weekly review of decisions on NRL HQ, Archer said the referees made the correct decision to give Taupau 10 minutes in the bin, while also standing by their decision to not sin-bin Manly five-eighth Kieran Foran during his side's clash with the Warriors on Saturday.
"There was a tackle made by Martin Taupau on James Maloney and a penalty was awarded and the player was placed on report," Archer said.
"The incident evolved as a result of that and certainly required the referee to take action to cool the player down, he did that and I think it was the appropriate decision in those circumstances to sin bin Taupau.
Manly five-eighth Kieran Foran was penalised for tackling a player off the ball, but was not sin-binned because fullback Brett Stewart was in the vicinity.
"The penalty was appropriate because Brett Stewart was able to collect the ball from the kick," Archer said.
"It didn't really fall into the realms of a professional foul, although it was close. Not in these circumstances should he have been sin-binned."
Archer said the referees erred in allowing the Broncos to take a shot at goal after hooker Andrew McCullough had correctly taken a tap late in the first half against the Titans.
"The referee shouldn't have stopped play and allowed Brisbane to have a shot for goal, what he should have done is play on," he said.
"The mark was given to the Brisbane team, McCullough took a correct tap, the game should have continued."