You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
The South Sydney Rabbitohs celebrate taking out the 2015 Dick Smith NRL Auckland Nines trophy.

The four pools of the 2016 Downer NRL Auckland Nines have been revealed, with local favourites the Warriors to face strong clubs Brisbane, Manly and Canterbury in the group stage.

Top 10 new faces for the Auckland Nines
2016 Auckland Nines jerseys
Best tries of the 2015 Auckland Nines
Team of the 2015 Auckland Nines
Get your tickets to the 2016 tournament now

Old rivals the Sydney Roosters and South Sydney Rabbitohs will also square off in the opening rounds, while new NRL champions the Cowboys take on three teams who struggled this season but who also boast plenty of young talent in the Knights, Panthers and Wests Tigers.

The teams have been drawn into the following pools:

Pool Hunua: Bulldogs, Sea Eagles, Warriors, Broncos
Pool Waiheke: Roosters, Rabbitohs, Eels, Storm
Pool Rangitoto: Knights, Cowboys, Panthers, Wests Tigers
Pool Piha: Dragons, Raiders, Sharks, Titans

Pool Previews: Hunua | Piha | Rangitoto | Waiheke

Full schedule

The tournament will run over two days on Saturday February 6 and Sunday February 7 at Eden Park, Auckland. It has been confirmed Australia's women's team the Jillaroos will also take on New Zealand's Kiwi Ferns over the weekend once again.

Each nine-a-side game is played over two nine-minute halves, with clubs naming a squad of 18 for the tournament. A whopping $NZ2.6 million in prize money is up for grabs in the 2016 tournament.

After a round robin format in each pool, the top two teams will advance to the quarter-finals.

The South Sydney Rabbitohs will be defending their 2015 Auckland Nines title, having beaten the Cronulla Sharks in the 2015 final. Issac Luke, who lifted the trophy as the Rabbitohs captain this year, could make his debut for his new club the Warriors in the tournament alongside fellow star signing Roger Tuivasa-Sheck.

Get your tickets to the 2016 tournament now


Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners