You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Wests Tigers have today confirmed that Aaron Woods will be the club’s captain for the 2016 NRL season.

Woods, 24, has played 105 NRL games for Wests Tigers since making his debut in 2011.

The Leichhardt Junior has also played five Tests for Australia and has made seven State of Origin appearances for New South Wales.

In 2016 Woods will be supported by two vice-captains, with Dene Halatau and Chris Lawrence being appointed to the roles.

The three players will be joined by Matt Ballin, Robbie Farah, Sauaso Sue and James Tedesco in the Wests Tigers leadership group.

Wests Tigers CEO Justin Pascoe congratulated Woods on his appointment as club captain.

“On behalf of everyone at Wests Tigers I would like to congratulate Aaron on being named as our 2016 club captain,” said Pascoe.

“Over his career so far Aaron has displayed a number of qualities that make it clear to the club that he is a strong leader who will have an important role to play in the future.

“Sometimes we forget that Aaron is only 24 years old, it’s impressive that at such a young age he has already played 100 games for his club, won a State of Origin series with New South Wales and represented his country on a number of occasions,” he said. 


Video first featured at

Acknowledgement of Country

National Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Media Partners

Major Partners

View All Partners